中国的军费开支究竟几何?

中国的军费开支究竟几何?
中国的军费开支究竟几何?
中国的军费开支究竟几何? Top
    繁體

    国防开支是衡量一国军事能力最直接的指标之一。通过对比各国的名义国防开支总额或国防开支占政府总开支的比重,便可了解各方在军事上的相对实力。而一些导致国防预算或增或减的重大政治事件,在军费分配上亦可见一斑。不管一国军费总额多高,最终都仍需把这种潜在实力转化为预期结果。

    由于中国的军费支出状况不够透明,因此其军事开支和军事实力间的关系并非一目了然。虽然中国政府每年都公布国防预算数字,但外界的估值常常远高于官方数据。再加上军费的具体分配情况并非完全公开,外界对中国的国防支出就更是雾里看花。

    Defense Spending Giants

    This interactive compares China’s defense spending from 2000 to 2018 with other key countries. Use the filtering options to select other measures of spending or to look at another country grouping. Data provided by the SIPRI Military Expenditure Database.

    Filter by category:

    Filter by grouping:

    Filter by year:

    追踪中国军事开支

    军费报告并无统一标准。虽然国际上已有联合国军费透明制度等规范,但是否遵行纯属自愿。这意味着各国政府在通报军事开支时,细节可多可少。中国于2007年开始践行上述联合国制度,但军费报告相较许多国家仍不够透明。

    中国政府每年对开支信息进行一次通报。2019年3月,中国财政部公布了总额为1.19万亿元(1775亿美元1)的年度军事预算,相较2018年的1.11万亿(1674亿美元2)增加7.5%3。该增幅也符合近年来预算增速降至个位数的趋势。

    尽管如此,对于中国的实际军事开支,各方依然众说纷纭。斯德哥尔摩国际和平研究所(SIPRI)认为,2018年中国实际军事开支总额约2500亿美元,而国际战略研究所(IISS)2017年给出的估算是2090亿美元。美国国防部判断中国2018年实际国防开支很可能超过了2000亿美元。

    尽管各方给出的数字不尽相同,但相比往年,中国政府提供的官方数据应该已经更加贴近实际国防开支水平。2002年,美国国防部报告指出,中国实际国防开支可能比官方预算高出四倍之多。相较之下,2018年国际和平研究所(SIPRI)给出的中国名义国防开支估计值是2500亿美元,仅为官方数字的1.4倍。

    中国政府提供的数据透明度不一,这加大了外界估算中国国防开支的难度。1995年起发布的11份国防白皮书对中国军事预算的用途都或多或少进行了阐述,但信息的详尽程度各有不同。1998年到2008年间发布的白皮书包含了中国与日、俄等国预算细分项目的对比。2008年后,此类对比信息不再列举,直到2019年7月才再次出现在最新发布的白皮书中。

    中国国防开支分配情况
    10亿美元(2017年)
    总计
    金额 占比(%)
    人员生活费 47.51 30.8
    训练维持费 43.41 28.1
    装备费 63.47 41.1
    总计 154.39 100
    数据来源:联合国

    除2013年和2015年发布的白皮书外,大部分国防白皮书还列出了三大开支类别:人员生活费、训练维持费和装备费4。中国政府表示,其每年都向联合国提交各类别下的军事开支信息,然而在联合国只能查询到2006200720082017财年5的相关信息,且报告长度仅有一页。2005年前后的报告中,三个类别的开支基本持平。查看2019年的报告,会发现从2010年到2017年,各类别开支开始出现明显差距。装备费如今成了国防预算中的最大支出,在2017年军费中比重超过41%。

    注意:本图表中的数据来自2019年国防白皮书,与财政部提供的数字有所不同。

    中国政府提供的数据本身也并不一致,这使得中国的军费开支更显扑朔迷离。财政部提供的数字与2019年国防白皮书中的开支信息并不一致6。这可能是因为财政部没有把与民兵相关的支出计算在内。2017年,财政部提供的数据和国防白皮书中列出的军费数字相差29亿美元。

    中国的军费报告不够透明,导致官方数据和外界估算存在差距,原因可能是各方在计算开支时包括的内容有所不同。中国的官方数据并不包含某些与军事相关的开支,如中国的航天项目、军方持股的商业公司带来的预算外收入、国防动员经费、一些单位经授权的土地及食品生产盈余销售、针对大学生的入伍奖金、省军区基地的运营成本等7

    官方军事开支数据对比
    10亿人民币(10亿美元)
    年份 财政部 2019年国防白皮书
    2017 ¥1023.7 ($151.5) ¥1043.2 ($154.4)
    2016 ¥954.6 ($143.7) ¥976.6 ($147.0)
    2015 ¥886.9 ($142.4) ¥908.8 ($145.9)
    2014 ¥805.5 ($131.1) ¥829.0 ($134.9)
    2013 ¥720.2 ($116.3) ¥741.1 ($119.6)
    2012 ¥650.6 ($103.1) ¥669.2 ($106.0)
    2011 ¥583.0 ($90.2) ¥602.8 ($93.3)
    2010 ¥518.2 ($76.5) ¥533.3 ($78.8)
    信息来源:财政部和国防部
    美元数值的计算基于国际货币基金组织提供的人民币对美元年度平均汇率

    中国官方军费数据还不包括公共治安开支,即人民武装警察部队(武警部队)的相关费用。武警部队是中国军方下属的准军事警察组织,主要负责国内治安、执法和海洋权益保护,由中央军事委员会直接管理。2017年武警部队的官方预算是1400亿人民币(207亿美元8)。

    It’s hard sometimes to be able to get too much out of the overall budget because the Chinese aren’t very transparent. Basically, they only give us a top line figure.

    – Richard Bitzinger

    中国并非唯一一个把某些国防开支从官方预算中剔除的国家。在印度,包括中央武装警察部队在内的准军事部队皆隶属于内政部,而非国防部。此外,对于航天及核武方面的开支,印度也并非开诚布公。美国的核武经费由能源部调拨,这一点在美国的国防预算中也并未提及。不过,美国政府的预算透明度很高,因此分析人士能够轻松了解各项差值背后的原因。

    中国的军费报告中还包含一些西方国家国防预算通常不会包含的费用,这使得估算中国的实际军费难上加难。一直以来,中国官方提供的军费数据都默认包含了军事基建费用,但其实很多基建项目属于军民两用,经费来自于地方及国家的非国防预算。同样的,赈灾款项也是由中国国防预算出资,再由非国防机构进行报销,但这种报销机制的流程和效力尚不清楚。

    A Conversation With Richard Bitzinger

    在中国,退休的高级军官享有的特殊待遇包括办公室、助理以及优先享受医疗服务的权利,这些都是国防预算中的开支,但许多此类项目及相关费用在西方国家是由非军事机构承担的,这一区别使得估算中国军事预算变得更为复杂。究竟此类开销在中国国防预算中占比多少,外界仍然不得而知。

    价格信息的缺失也增大了估算工作的困难。中国政府并不公开军用物资和服务的具体价格,这使得按照购买力平价(PPP)标准进行计算显得困难重重。此外,中国的国防预算究竟用于哪些物资的购置?中国和他国的哪些军用物资具有可比性?此类关键问题没有确切的答案,这也是估算工作的难点所在。在提供基于PPP的估算时,包括国际战略研究所(IISS)在内的各家独立机构都谨慎地指出,中国在军事领域没有准确可用的PPP汇率,因此无法按照PPP对各项军事开支进行确切计算。

    中国军事开支对比

    本章节数据来自国际和平研究所(SIPRI)的军费开支数据库9

    中国国防开支在过去二十年涨幅接近八倍,从1998年的312亿美元增加至2018年的2392亿美元。目前,中国的国防开支已超过日本、韩国、菲律宾和越南的总和,仅次于美国,位居世界第二。

    中国军事支出的增长与国内生产总值(GDP)的增速保持一致。自2000年来,中国的国防开支在GDP中一直占比2%左右。相比之下,日本的军费支出保持在GDP的1%左右,但日本首相安倍晋三已提出要增加军费,未来军费占GDP的比重或有所攀升

    中国日益增加的国防开支背后,是二十多年来的现代化进程。1995年至1996年的台湾海峡危机发生后,中国认识到自身国防能力存在根本性缺陷,无法阻止外部势力干涉主权争端,于是决定全面开启军事现代化的进程。2000年以前,中国的国防预算基本处于零增长状态,因此,中国国防开支的增长也是国内政策调整的结果。

    军费总额不断攀升,随之而来的是一系列引人注目的采购计划、军事改革以及中国人民解放军相关宗旨和战略的调整。这些调整使得中国在地区和国际安全领域扮演起更重要的角色。中国参与联合国维和行动,出兵抗击海盗,提供人道主义援助,帮助救灾赈灾,这些对全球治理的贡献是大家喜闻乐见的,但另一方面,中国努力维护东海和南海地区日益增长的安全利益,也导致其与区域内各方关系紧张。

    FDI

    China’s naval expansion allows it to play a greater role in international security issues. As of 2018, the Chinese Navy consists of over 300 ships, making it larger than the US Navy’s 287 deployable vessels. Learn more.

    虽然过去15年间,中国的国防开支大幅增加,但相较美国的军事预算,还是难以望其项背。2018年美国国防预算在GDP中占比高达3.1%,名义开支比中国高出了2.5倍以上。即便把统计口径不同这一因素考虑在内,中国的军费仍然与美国相去甚远。不过值得一提的是,美国的军事势力遍布全球,而中国仍聚焦印太地区的安全事务。

    若论军事开支在政府总开支中的占比,中国的相关数据有明显下降,已从2001年的12%降至2018年的5.5%。而美国的军费占比在2002至2011年明显上升后,也同样开始回落,目前已经降至911事件前的水平(2001年和2018年皆为9%)。虽然俄罗斯的军费占比依然总体处于高位,但相比2016年14.8%的水平,2018年已经下降至11.4%。区域内大部分国家2018年的军费占比都持平或小幅下降10

    就各大地区总体情况而言,东亚地区的军费开支已接近东西欧军费开支的总和。从1990年到2018年,东亚军费开支从894亿美元上升至3363亿美元,这一增长主要来自于中国军费的增加。1990年,中国在东亚地区总军事开支中占比仅23.4%,而2018年,这一数字已跃升至71.1%。纵观整个亚洲(包括中东国家在内),中国的军费占到了地区总军事开支的48.4%。ChinaPower

    1. 按照报告发布日即2019年3月5日的人民币对美元平均汇率6.703:1计算。
    2. 中国财政部公布增幅为7.5%,这是按照人民币计算的名义增幅。若按照美元计算,名义增幅为6%。
    3. 按照2018年人民币对美元平均汇率6.614:1计算。
    4. 1998到2010年间出版的白皮书以偶数年命名。2010年起,命名方式进行了调整,如今的国防白皮书以奇数年命名,如2013年、2015年。
    5. 中国2017年的报告未通过联合国线上工具提交,因此该报告被单独陈列。
    6. 国防白皮书中的数据与中国提交给联合国的报告中的数据一致。
    7. 有未经证实的消息称中国的航母经费可能未被纳入官方开支数据当中。
    8. 按照2017年人民币对美元的平均汇率6.757:1计算。
    9. 数据单位皆为2017年的美元(不变价值)
    10. 值得一提的是,巴基斯坦2018年军费占政府总体开支的18.5%,较2017年的17.7%增幅不大,但明显有所上升。

What does China really spend on its military?

What does China really spend on its military?
What does China really spend on its military?
What does China really spend on its military? Top

    Defense spending is one of the most direct ways of measuring a country’s potential military capability. Comparing defense spending between countries — whether nominally or as a percent of government expenditure — is a useful gauge of relative military strength. Spending patterns can also reveal key political events that have prompted an increase or decrease in defense allocations. No matter how much a country spends on its military, it still must translate its potential capability for power into desired outcomes.

    Understanding the connection between Chinese military spending and Chinese military power is complicated by a lack of transparency. Although Beijing provides figures for its defense spending each year, outside estimates of China’s defense budget are often significantly higher than the official numbers. China provides limited information on the distribution of its military spending, which further obscures spending patterns.

    Defense Spending Giants

    This interactive compares China’s defense spending from 2000 to 2018 with other key countries. Use the filtering options to select other measures of spending or to look at another country grouping. Data provided by the SIPRI Military Expenditure Database.

    Filter by category:

    Filter by grouping:

    Filter by year:

    Tracking Chinese Military Spending

    There is no universally accepted standard for reporting military spending. While international mechanisms exist, such as the UN Report on Military Expenditures, participation is voluntary. This allows governments to report their expenditure with varying degrees of detail. China joined the UN instrument in 2007, but it remains less transparent than many countries.

    The Chinese government reports expenditure information annually. In March 2019, China’s Ministry of Finance announced a yearly budget of 1.19 trillion yuan ($177.5 billion),1 marking a 7.5 percent2 increase from the 2018 budget of 1.11 trillion yuan ($167.4 billion).3 This follows a recent trend that has seen yearly percent increases in spending fall to single digits.

    Yet, how much China actually spends on its military is widely debated. The Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) estimates the overall 2018 figure at $250 billion and the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) puts the number at $209 billion in 2017. The US Department of Defense (DoD) concludes that China’s 2018 defense budget likely exceeded $200 billion.

    Notwithstanding these differences, Beijing’s official figures may now more accurately represent defense expenditures than in the past. In 2002, the DoD reported that China’s actual defense spending may have been upwards of four times larger than its officially announced budget. In comparison, the 2018 estimate from SIPRI pegs China’s nominal defense spending at $250 billion, 1.4 times larger than the official figure.

    Low levels of transparency from Beijing compound outside efforts to estimate China’s defense budget. The publication of 10 defense white papers since 1995 has provided some insight into the nature of Chinese military spending, but with varying levels of specificity. White papers published between 1998 and 2008 included comparative budget breakdowns between China and countries like Japan and Russia; but when China began to outspend its neighbors, these comparisons disappeared.

    Defense white papers published between 1998 and 2010 also outline three spending categories — personnel, training and maintenance, and equipment — but these breakdowns do not appear in the 2013 and 2015 white papers.4 China has sporadically reported spending details to the UN in one-page breakdowns provided for fiscal years 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2017.5 The reports from the mid-2000s show the same even distribution of spending as that of earlier white papers. In the 2017 report, spending on equipment increased to 41.1 percent of China’s overall expenditure, while personnel and training dropped to 30.8 percent and maintenance fell to 28.1 percent.

    Chinese Defense Expenditure Breakdown
    Billions of Dollars (2017)
    Total
    Amount Percentage (%)
    Personnel 47.51 30.8
    Training & Maintenance 43.41 28.1
    Equipment 63.47 41.1
    Total 154.39 100
    Source:United Nations

    China’s lack of transparency leads to discrepancies between official figures and outside estimates due to differences in what expenditures are included in the budget. Official figures do not account for a number of military-related outlays, including aspects of China’s space program, extra-budgetary revenues from military-owned commercial enterprises, defense mobilization funds, authorized sales of land or excess food produced by some units, recruitment bonuses for college students, and provincial military base operating costs.6

    Official military spending also excludes spending on public security, which includes the People’s Armed Police (PAP). The PAP is a paramilitary police component of China’s armed forces that is charged with internal security, law enforcement, and maritime rights protection. The Central Military Commission maintains direct control of the PAP. The official budget for the PAP was 140 billion RMB ($20.7 billion) in 2017.7

    It’s hard sometimes to be able to get too much out of the overall budget because the Chinese aren’t very transparent. Basically, they only give us a top line figure.

    – Richard Bitzinger

    China is not alone in excluding elements of defense-related spending from its official defense budget. India’s paramilitary forces, which make up the Central Armed Police Forces, fall under the Ministry of Home Affairs, not the Ministry of Defense. India is also not forthcoming about space and nuclear weapons expenditures. The United States funds its nuclear weapons through the Department of Energy and does not include these details in its defense budget. However, the US government maintains a high level of budgetary transparency, which enables analysts to readily account for discrepancies.

    Estimates of China’s military budget are further complicated by the reporting of costs not typically included in many Western defense budgets. Historically, expenses incurred by military infrastructure construction were assumed to be included in the official figures, although many of these projects are designed to be dual use and use funding from local and national nondefense budgets. Disaster relief is likewise funded through the defense budget and is to be reimbursed by nondefense agencies, but the mechanism and effectiveness of this reimbursement remains unclear.

    A Conversation With Richard Bitzinger

    Perquisites for retired senior officers — including offices, assistants, and special access to hospital facilities — are all funded through China’s defense budget. Many of these functions and associated costs are typically incurred in Western countries by nonmilitary organizations, a discrepancy that further complicates estimates of China’s military budget. It remains unclear what percentage these expenditures constitute of China’s total defense budget.

    The inconsistencies in estimates are further complicated by a lack of pricing information. Beijing does not release accurate cost data for military goods and services, making it difficult to make calculations based on purchasing power parity (PPP). Some of the chief challenges are uncertainty over which goods to place in China’s defense spending basket, and which goods to compare between China and other countries. Independent organizations, such as IISS, caveat their PPP estimates, noting that no specific PPP rate applies to the Chinese military sector and that there is no definitive means through which elements of military spending can be calculated using PPP rates.

    Comparing Chinese Military Spending

    Calculations in this section are derived from the SIPRI Military Expenditure Database.8

    China’s defense spending has seen a nearly eight-fold increase over the past two decades, jumping from $31.2 billion in 1998 to $239.2 billion in 2018. China currently spends more on defense than Japan, South Korea, the Philippines, and Vietnam combined, and China’s military spending is second only to the United States.

    This growth in military spending is tied to China’s rising gross domestic product (GDP). Since 2000, China’s defense expenditures as a share of its GDP has hovered at around 2 percent. In comparison, Japan’s military spending remains set at approximately 1 percent of its GDP, but this could change in the future as Prime Minister Abe has pushed for a spending increase.

    China’s rising defense spending follows from over two decades of modernization efforts. China began military modernization in earnest after the 1995–1996 Taiwan Strait crisis, which exposed fundamental weaknesses in China’s ability to deter foreign intervention in sovereignty disputes. The increase in China’s defense spending during this period was, in part, also a response to domestic policies that left China’s defense budget relatively stagnant prior to the 2000s.

    Aggregate spending increases have corresponded with several high-profile procurement programs, military reforms, and doctrinal and strategic shifts within the People’s Liberation Army. These shifts have facilitated China playing a larger role in regional and international security. Some of these efforts, such as China’s participation in UN peacekeeping operations, antipiracy efforts, and humanitarian assistance and disaster relief are welcomed contributions to global governance. On the other hand, defending China’s growing security interests in the East and South China Seas has strained relations with other regional actors.

    FDI

    China’s naval expansion allows it to play a greater role in international security issues. As of 2018, the Chinese Navy consists of over 300 ships, making it larger than the US Navy’s 287 deployable vessels. Learn more.

    Despite considerable increases over the past fifteen years, China’s military budget pales in comparison to that of the US. The US spent 3.1 percent of its GDP on defense in 2018, and its nominal expenditure was more than two and a half times higher than that of China. Even when accounting for reporting discrepancies, China would have to raise its spending considerably to match the US defense budget. However, it is worth noting that the United States maintains a global military presence while China remains primarily focused on security issues within the Indo-Pacific.

    When considering military spending as a percent of total government expenditure, Chinese military spending has dropped noticeably — from 12.0 percent in 2001 to 5.5 percent in 2018. After a marked increase from 2002 to 2011, US spending has likewise decreased and returned to pre-September 11 levels (9 percent in 2001 and 9 percent in 2018). Although Russia’s spending remains high, it declined from 14.8 percent in 2016 to 11.4 percent in 2018. For the most part, spending elsewhere in the region either dipped in 2018 or remained steady.9

    Looking at broader regional trends, East Asia spends close to the same amount as Western and Eastern Europe combined. East Asian spending has increased from $89.4 billion in 1990 to $336.3 billion in 2018. Much of this growth in expenditure has been driven by China. In 1990, China constituted 23.4 percent of total East Asian expenditure. As of 2018, this number stands at 71.1 percent. In terms of the broader regional context, the Chinese military budget constitutes 48.4 percent of the total cumulative spending across all of Asia (including those in the Middle East). ChinaPower

    1. Calculated based on an average exchange rate of 6.703 RMB per USD on March 5, 2019, the day of the announcement.
    2. China’s Ministry of Finance announced growth of 7.5 percent, which is based on nominal growth in RMB. In nominal US dollars, the growth rate was 6.0 percent.
    3. Calculated based on an average exchange rate for 2018 of 6.614 RMB per USD.
    4. White papers published between 1998 and 2010 included an even-numbered year in their title. After 2010, the naming of the white papers changed, and they are now commonly known by odd-numbered years, 2013 and 2015.
    5. China’s report in 2017 was not submitted through the UN’s online tool, so it is listed separately.
    6. Rumors suggest that the cost of China’s aircraft carriers may also be excluded from official expenditure.
    7. Calculated based on an average exchange rate for 2017 of 6.757 RMB per USD.
    8. Figures are in 2017 USD (constant)
    9. It is worth noting that Pakistan spent 18.5 percent of its government expenditure on defense in 2018, a modest but noticeable increase from 17.7 percent in 2017.