中国准备好迎接智能自动化浪潮了吗?

中国准备好迎接智能自动化浪潮了吗?
中国准备好迎接智能自动化浪潮了吗?
中国准备好迎接智能自动化浪潮了吗? Top
    繁體

    流程与程序自动化以机器人学和人工智能(AI)等尖端技术为基础,具有彻底改变全球经济的潜力。从生产制造到客户服务,自动化必将提高整体经济生产力,但是,自动化的崛起也将给全球劳动力市场带来巨大震荡。在中国力图维持经济增长同时,如何利用自动化将是其保持长期经济竞争力的关键。

    Assessing Automation Readiness (interactive)


    中国自动化的驱动力

    人口结构的持续变化正迫使中国领导人推动国内的劳动密集型产业向自动化转型。几十年来,人口红利为中国制造业提供了充足的廉价劳动力,国家也曾于此受益。如今,中国正面临出生率下降和人口迅速老龄化的问题。据中国人力资源和社会保障部预测,到2050年,中国的劳动力数量将从2016年的9.11亿至大约7亿。随着传统劳动力的萎缩,自动化或将成为维持中国生产力的关键。

    中国劳动力规模的缩水正不断拉高经营成本。2016年,中国工厂工人的平均时达到3.6美元,比印度的五倍还多。诚然,美国制造业工人2016年的时薪已高达21.6美元,相较于美国等成熟经济体,中国的工资水平依然要低得多,但相比于刚刚超过2美元的时薪水平的墨西哥和巴西等国,中国的人工成本明显更高。中国的劳动生产率也相对较,仅达到经合组织平均水平的15-30%。

    自动化这一趋势可以为中国提供部分解决方案。过去,蒸汽机问世和信息技术出现这样的重大变革曾使各经济体经历根本转型。据麦肯锡称,自动化可使全球生产率每年提升0.8%至1.4%,而蒸汽机和信息技术则分别让全球生产率提升了0.3%和0.6%。普华永道预估,到2030年,人工智能和自动化带动的生产率和消费上涨将中国国内生产总值的26%,相当于7万亿美元。同一份报告指出,其对北美经济的贡献则会同期达到14.5%,即3.7万亿美元。

    有自动化潜力的劳动力和工资
    国家 工资 (万亿美元) 劳动力(百万)*
    中国 3.6 395
    美国 2.3 61
    欧洲** 1.9 62
    印度 1.1 235
    日本 1 36
    世界其他国家 4.7 367
    *Full Time Equivalent (全时当量) **法国,德国,意大利,西班牙,英国
    Source:麦肯锡

    中国各产业在自动化领域已取得重大进展。从2013年到2016年,中国制造业平均每万名员工中的机器人数量从25台增加到了68台。2017年,中国成为工业机器人的主要购买国,购买约13.8万台。同年,销往中国的工业机器人占全球总销售额的35.6%。国际机器人联合会预估, 2020年前,中国的机器人市场将保持每年20%的增长速度。

    虽然中国已成为全球最大的工业机器人市场,但相较其庞大的劳动力市场,机器人的使用率仍然很低。2016年,中国制造业平均每万名员工中的机器人数只有68台,低于全球74台的平均水平,更是远低于韩国(631台)、新加坡(488台)和德国(309台)。


    推动自动化的政策

    中国政府在推动自动化方面发挥了主导作用。2014年,习近平主席在向中国科学院的讲话中呼吁在中国进行“机器人革命”,目标是“要尽可能多地占领市场”。机器人技术也被列为“中国制造2025”中的优先发展事项,该计划于2015年发布,旨在全面提升中国工业。

    政府出台了低息贷款、税收减免和其他激励政策,鼓励机器人技术、人工智能和其他关键领域的发展。有迹象表明,这些激励措施已发挥成效。从2014年至2016年,中国机器人制造商数量实现翻倍增长,从400家增至800多家。然而,其中许多企业以组装和代加工为主,处于产业链的低端,限制了中国的潜在经济收益。据新华社报道,2017年新成立的机器人公司达1686家,这可能是中国“机器人革命”的曙光。

    除了提供诱人的国内融资,中国也希望通过收购海外机器人和人工智能技术公司来加速本国向自动化的过渡。“中国制造2025”计划对此有所提及,计划强调,政府“支持企业在境外开展并购和股权投资、创业投资。”此类收购就包括电器制造商美的(Midea)在2017年收购德国机器人公司库卡(KUKA)。由于担心中国政府掌握对德国经济竞争力至关重要的技术,该收购案曾引发德国民众的强烈反对。

    中国地方政府也提供优厚的补贴和融资计划。例如,广东省已承诺投资约1380亿美元(9430亿元人民币)用于发展当地机器人产业,同时鼓励企业实现自动化发展。据报道,东莞已经利用机器人减少用工20万,并出资近300亿美元(2000亿元人民币)推进自动化发展。作为中国的工业大市之一,广州的目标是到2020年使80%的劳动力被自动化取代。

    人工智能系统的应用对自动化也至关重要,而人工智能系统的进步得益于数据的获取。但是在中国,访问某些类别的数据仍有困难。例如,出于安全考虑,中国对地形详图和气象数据的管控比其他国家更为严格,而这类信息正是供应链和分销管理领域所亟需的。此外,由于中国大部分数据的采集和管理不善,导致人工智能系统在处理和分析数据时更为棘手。

    中国制定了严格的网络安全措施来保护数据安全,例如,2017年实施的《中华人民共和国网络安全法》要求所有个人数据须在国内处理。虽然德国、澳大利亚、印度和其他国家已各自制定了数据本地化法律,但中国的管理更严。2017年的《网络安全法》限制所有“重要数据”的跨境转移,“重要数据”的定义含糊,但目前包括公共通信、金融和信息技术相关数据。为保持合规,苹果等外国企业纷纷选择在中国境内建立数据中心。

    现有工业机器人 (千)
    中国 世界
    2010 52 1059
    2012 97 1235
    2014 189 1472
    2016 340 1828
    资料来源:国际机器人联盟

    根据《自动化准备就绪指数》”报告,中国在建设自动化伦理道德体系方面排名靠后,在25个国家中仅位居第13名。 中国的《新一代人工智能发展规划》提出目标,计划到2025年前初步建立人工智能的相关法律法规。就自动化技术而言,德国、美国大多数州及其他一些国家已完成立法,建立起自动驾驶汽车的事故责任划分和道路规范等法律法规。

    投资基础设施,特别是兴建工业园区,也在中国政府的规划之中。截至目前,中国已建立起40多座专攻人工智能或机器人技术的工业园区,在建园区也有很多。例如,北京正在筹建的一座大型园区将容纳400家聚焦人工智能、大数据、云计算和深度学习的企业。该园区预计耗资20亿美元,将于2023年完工。中国的相关努力通过《自动化准备就绪指数》报告的排名有所体现。中国自动化基础设施产业集群的发展领先于美国、日本、韩国和德国,位列第二,仅居英国之后。


    自动化经济体下的劳动力

    培养能设计、构建和编程自动化技术的高技能人才实为关键。为加强高技能人才的培养,中国将教育体系的重心放在了培育科学技术和工程精英上。

    为此,中国政府已出台了若干政策指示,其中最主要的是《国家中长期教育改革和发展规划纲要(2010—2020年)》,该纲要确定了国家教育目标,增加了国家教育预算。这些改革有助加速培养高技能人才。中国高等教育的入学率正在激增。2017年,中国高校毕业生约有800万人,比1997年多出十倍。

    在高教领域,中国对科学和工程教育进行了改进。自2000年以来,获得科学与工程学士学位的中国大学生人数上涨超过450%。2014年,中国大学授予的科学与工程学士学位占全球750万总数的近四分之一,仅次于印度。

    在博士学位授予人数方面,美国以40000人领先,其次是中国(34000人)、俄罗斯(19000人)和德国(15000人)。重点是,中国留学生在美国等国家的博士研究生中占比很大。 2005年至2015年间,美国大学向4万多名中国留学生授予了科学与工程博士学位,比授予印度和韩国留学生的两倍还多。

    科学与工程领域毕业生人数的增加对经济发展或有潜在裨益,但目前自动化教育大多仍处于起步阶段。仅有几所中国顶尖大学专门开设人工智能或机器人工程课程,能编程、设计自动化核心机器的人才少之又少。而在美国,有60多所大学为本科生开设机器人课程。

    为填补这一学术缺口,中国政府试图从海外吸引人才。例如,2008年启动的“千人计划”旨在激励海外的中外专家到中国工作。该计划已为中国引进了7000多名学者和研究人员。据美国政府估计,引进人才中约22%是工业技术专家,8%是计算机科学家。

    中等职业学校在校生
    学生 (百万)
    2000 12.8
    2005 16
    2010 22.4
    2015 16.6
    2016 16
    资料来源:中国统计年鉴

    中国政府也在协同推动职业学校课改,培养能在高度自动化环境中作业的技工。2015年,中国教育部在职业技术学校增设工业机器人技术和智能产品开发等专业。截至2016年底,已有300多所职业学校开设了类似课程

    这些改革正是对2014年国家提出倡议的响应,倡议旨在到2020年,将中等职业教育在校生人数提高到2350万(占中学生人数的50%)。然而,职业学校的招生力度不足。2016年,职业学校的在校生人数仅有1600万,比2010年巅峰时的2240万人下降28.6%。

    FDI

    为了不断提高中国的经济实力,中国的领导人一直致力于提高国内的教育质量。 点击这里阅读了解 中国的教育体系.

    对于加强批判性思维、创造力和情商培养等提高学生软实力的教育改革,中国政府的接受度越来越高,但仍落后于其他国家。 韩国于2015年通过了《人性教育振兴法》,旨在提高学生的沟通协作能力,加强自身责任感。包括奥地利、智利、爱沙尼亚和日本在内的许多经合组织国家也将社交能力和情商培养在国家教育体系中列为重点


    被自动化取代的劳动力

    自动化可能会取代世界上很大一部分劳动力。麦肯锡预估,到2030年,自动化将迫使3.75亿工人重新择业。在中国,自动化可取代全国制造业五分之一的岗位,迫使近1亿工人(占劳动力总数的12%)重新求职。 服务型经济体也面临着同样的挑战。美国和日本将分别有高达30%和46%的劳动力被自动化技术所取代

    中国的劳动力市场已经受到了影响。据中国发展研究基金会称,某些企业中已有40%的员工被自动化技术取代。例如,中国最受欢迎的饮料品牌之一娃哈哈已将流水线规模从两三百人缩减到几个人。总部位于台湾的富士康在中国大陆各处均设有工厂,2012至2016年期间,其有40万个工作岗位被机器人取代。

    但是,调查失业情况并不容易。据估计,在东莞的“机器换人”行动计划下,大约71000到86000的工作岗位被取代。但有些报道称,这一情况并非完全由自动化造成。长江商学院表示,许多在东莞工作的工人并非因为自动化而失业,他们下岗是因为工厂的迁移,很多公司已选择将厂房迁至工资水平较低的内地区域。

    2017-2037年被自动化取代和创造的岗位 (百万)
    行业 被取代的岗位 新增的岗位 净增
    服务业 72 169 97
    建筑业 15 29 14
    工业 59 63 4
    农业 57 35 -22
    总计 204 297 93
    资料来源:普华永道/a>

    自动化虽然会淘汰某些工种种类,但也带来了新的工作机遇。世界经济论坛预估,到2022年,自动化将创造超过5800万个就业岗位。普华永道表示,从2017年到2037年,人工智能和相关技术将让中国的服务业、建筑业和工业的就业机会净增长。但与此同时,因为中国的一些自动化项目力图完全取代人类劳动, 部分的农耕领域的就业岗位将永久流失。江苏省就在2018年启动了一系列无人作业实验项目,包括由导航卫星辅助操控的旱耕机、打浆整平机、插秧机、施药施肥机以及收割机等多种无人农机。

    中国工人需要根据自动化创造出的新岗位需求来培养自身技能,这就使得继续教育项目变得愈发重要。中国政府已着手建立终身教育体系,但其进展依然落后于其他富裕国家。经济学人智库将中国的职业教育转型项目排在第21位,远低于新加坡和德国。新加坡为中小企业的员工培训提供补助资金,而德国政府为人力资源转型项目承担高达80%的费用。想要缩小这一差距,让劳动力更好地适应自动化发展,中国还需加强继续教育工作。

    本文由国际战略研究中心中国实力项目发表,如有转载,请标明出处。ChinaPower

    Photo Credit: agsandrew

    China Power Team. "中国准备好迎接智能自动化浪潮了吗?" China Power. 二月 1, 2019. Updated 二月 1, 2019. Accessed December 7, 2019. https://chinapower.csis.org/china-intelligent-automation/?lang=zh-hans

Is China ready for intelligent automation?

Is China ready for intelligent automation?
Is China ready for intelligent automation?
Is China ready for intelligent automation? Top

    The automation of processes and procedures with cutting-edge technologies, such as advanced robotics and artificial intelligence (AI), has the potential to fundamentally change the global economy. From manufacturing to customer service, automation is primed to increase overall economic productivity, but its emergence will have a seismic impact on the global labor force. As China looks to sustain economic growth, how it harnesses automation will be crucial to its long-term economic competitiveness.

    Assessing Automation Readiness (interactive)


    Drivers of Automation in China

    Ongoing demographic shifts are putting pressure on China’s leaders to automate labor-intensive activities. For decades, China benefited from a demographic dividend that provided its manufacturing sector with a ready supply of cheap labor. The country now faces a declining birth rate and rapidly aging population. According to the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, China’s labor force will fall to roughly 700 million by 2050, down from 911 million in 2016. Automation could be the key to maintaining productivity as China’s traditional labor force shrinks.

    China’s dwindling labor force is driving up the cost of doing business. The average hourly wage for factory workers hit $3.60 per hour in 2016, more than five times the average hourly wage in India. While salaries in China are still dramatically lower than those of mature economies – workers in US manufactories earned $21.60 per hour in 2016 – China must now compete against countries like Mexico and Brazil where manufacturing workers earn just over $2 per hour. Productivity, which measures economic output per hour worked, remains relatively low in China, at just 15-30 percent of the OECD average.

    Automation could form part of the solution for China. The major paradigm shifts of the past, such as the invention of the steam engine and the emergence of information technology, have fundamentally transformed economies. According to McKinsey, automation could raise the global productivity growth rate between 0.8 and 1.4 percent annually. In comparison, the steam engine and IT raised the global productivity growth rate by 0.3 percent and 0.6 percent, respectively. PricewaterhouseCoopers estimates that by 2030, increased productivity and consumption resulting from AI and automation will contribute 26 percent of China’s GDP, equivalent to $7 trillion. According to the same report, it will contribute 14.5 percent or $3.7 trillion to the economies of North America.

    Wages & Workforce Associated with Automatable Activities
    Country Wages (trillion $) Workforce (million FTE)*
    China 3.6 395
    US 2.3 61
    Europe** 1.9 62
    India 1.1 235
    Japan 1 36
    Rest of World 4.7 367
    *Full Time Equivalent **France, Germany, Italy, Spain, UK
    Source:McKinsey & Company

    China has made significant strides toward automating segments of its economy. The average number of robots per 10,000 employees in China’s manufacturing sector grew from 25 units in 2013 to 68 units in 2016. In 2017, China was the leading purchaser of industrial robots, with some 138,000 units added to its economy. In that year, industrial robot sales to China totaled 35.6 percent of global sales. The International Federation of Robotics estimates that through 2020, the robotics market in China will grow by 20 percent annually.

    While China has become the largest market for industrial robots, its robotic usage remains low compared to its massive labor force. In 2016, China averaged only 68 robots per 10,000 employees in the manufacturing industry, falling short of the global average of 74, and well below South Korea (631), Singapore (488), and Germany (309).


    Beijing’s Push for Automation

    The Chinese government has taken a leading role in promoting automation. In a 2014 speech to the Chinese Academy of Sciences, President Xi Jinping called for an indigenous “robot revolution” with the goal of “capturing markets in many places.” Robotics is also listed as a priority under Made in China 2025, which is an initiative launched in 2015 that aims at comprehensively upgrading Chinese industry.

    Low interest loans, tax relief, and other incentives are being offered to encourage growth in robotics, AI, and other key areas. There is some indication that these incentives may already be paying early dividends. The number of robot manufacturers in China doubled from 400 to more than 800 between 2014 and 2016. However, many of these companies focus on the lower end of the robotics manufacturing chain, which limits the potential economic gains for China. According to Xinhua, 1,686 new robotic companies were established in 2017, which may prove a promising sign for the country’s “robot revolution.”

    In addition to attractive domestic financing, China has sought to acquire foreign robotics and AI firms to hasten its transition toward automation. This effort was outlined in Made in China 2025, which underscored the government’s “support [for] enterprises to perform mergers, equity investment and venture capital investment overseas.” One such acquisition was electrical appliance manufacturer Midea’s takeover of German robotics firm KUKA in 2017. The deal precipitated widespread backlash in Germany due to public concern that Beijing would be acquiring technologies vital to Germany’s economic competitiveness.

    Local governments in China are also offering generous subsidies and financing options. Guangdong Province, for instance, has pledged roughly $138 billion (943 billion yuan) to expand the local robotics industry and encourage companies to automate. Dongguan is reported to have replaced 200,000 workers with robots and invested nearly $30 billion (200 million yuan) in automation. Guangzhou, one of China’s industrial powerhouses, aims to automate four-fifths of its workforce by 2020.

    Employing systems that utilize AI is also critical for automation, and the advancement of AI systems benefits greatly from ready access to data. However, access to certain categories of data remains difficult in China. Detailed topographic maps and weather data, for example, are more tightly controlled in China on security grounds than they are in other countries, despite the critical need for this type of information in supply chain and distribution management. Furthermore, much of Chinese data is poorly collected and managed, making the consumption and analysis of these data by AI systems more challenging.

    Regarding data protection, China has enacted stringent cyber security measures, such as the 2017 Cybersecurity Law that requires all personal data be processed inside the country. While Germany, Australia, India, and others have enacted their own data localization laws, China goes one step further. The 2017 Cybersecurity Law limits the cross-border transfer of all “important data,” an intentionally vague category that currently includes public communications, finance, and information technology. To comply with these regulations, foreign companies such as Apple have opted to build data centers within China.

    Estimated Operational Stock of Industrial Robots in China (Thousands)
    Year China World
    2010 52 1059
    2012 97 1235
    2014 189 1472
    2016 340 1828
    Source:International Federation of Robotics

    According to the Automation Readiness Index, China falls short in automation ethics boards, ranking 13 out of 25 countries. China’s AI Development Plan aims to begin establishing AI laws and regulations prior to 2025. Germany, most US states, and a number of other countries have already enacted legislation regarding automated technologies, such as accident liability and road regulations for self-driving cars.

    Infrastructure investments, particularly in the form of industrial parks, are also part of China’s plan. So far, China has built more than 40 industrial parks that specialize in AI or robotics and more are on the way. Beijing, for instance, is looking to build a large park that will host 400 enterprises focusing on AI, big data, cloud computing, and deep learning. The park is slated to cost $2 billion and is expected to be completed by 2023. China’s ranking in the Automation Readiness Index reflects these efforts. China came in ahead of the US, Japan, South Korea and Germany in automation infrastructure cluster development, ranking second overall after the UK.


    Labor for an Automated Economy

    Creating a highly skilled labor force that can design, build, and program automation technologies is critical. To promote the development of skilled labor, China has oriented its education system to prioritize high-proficiency in science, technology, and engineering.

    The Chinese government has issued several policy directives toward this end. Chief among these is the National Medium- and Long-term Education Reform and Development Plan (2010-2020), which established national education attainment targets and increased the national education budget. Such reforms have hastened the development of a high-skilled workforce. Tertiary enrollment rates in China are booming. Roughly 8 million students graduated from Chinese universities in 2017, ten times more than in 1997.

    China has improved its science and engineering (S&E) education programs, particularly in higher education. Since 2000, the number of Chinese undergraduates awarded S&E degrees has increased by over 450 percent. In 2014, Chinese universities awarded nearly one quarter of the 7.5 million S&E bachelor’s degrees conferred across the globe, second only to India.

    At the doctoral level, the US led the way with 40,000 degrees awarded, followed by China (34,000), Russia (19,000), and Germany (15,000). Importantly, overseas Chinese citizens form a significant portion of doctoral candidates in countries like the US. Between 2005 and 2015, American universities awarded more than 40,000 S&E doctoral degrees to Chinese citizens, more than double those awarded to Indian and South Korean international students.

    This uptick in S&E graduates might pay future gains for economic development, but at present most automation-related educational sectors are still nascent. Only a handful of top Chinese universities specifically offer AI or robotics engineering courses, severely limiting the number of graduates capable of programming and designing machines critical for automation. In comparison, over 60 US universities offer robotics programs to their undergraduates.

    To fill this knowledge gap, Beijing seeks to attract talent from overseas. For example, the Thousand Talents Program, launched in 2008, is designed to incentivize foreign and Chinese experts based abroad to work in China. Over 7,000 scholars and researchers have been brought to China through the program. The US government estimates that about 22 percent of these individuals are industrial technology experts and eight percent are computer scientists.

    Secondary Vocational Enrollment in China
    Year Number of Students (million)
    2000 12.8
    2005 16
    2010 22.4
    2015 16.6
    2016 16
    Source:China Statistical Yearbook

    Beijing is also making a concerted effort to reform vocational school curricula to enable workers to operate in heavily automated environments. The Ministry of Education expanded its catalogue of majors in vocational and technical schools in 2015 to include Industrial Robots Technologies and Smart Product Development, among others. By the end of the following year, more than 300 vocational schools had created similar programs.

    These reforms are in line with a 2014 government initiative to boost post-9th grade vocational school enrollment to 23.5 million (50 percent of the middle school student population) by 2020. However, efforts to attract students to vocational schools are falling short. In 2016, vocational school enrollment reached only 16 million, a 28.6 percent decline from a peak of 22.4 million in 2010.

    FDI

    In an effort to push the Chinese economy up the global value chain, Chinese leaders have sought to improve educational quality and increase access across the country. Learn more about education in China.

    While Beijing is increasingly receptive to curriculum changes designed to improve soft skills that cannot be automated — such as critical thinking, creativity, and emotional intelligence — other countries are leading the way. South Korea passed the Character Education Promotion Act in 2015, which is aimed at improving the ability of students to communicate and cooperate, as well as heightening their sense of responsibility. Many OECD countries, including Austria, Chile, Estonia, and Japan, also prioritize social and emotional skills in their national education systems.


    Labor Displaced by Automation

    Automation has the potential to displace a significant portion of the world’s workforce. McKinsey estimates that automation could push 375 million workers to switch occupations by 2030. For China, automation could displace up to a fifth of all manufacturing jobs, forcing nearly 100 million workers (12 percent of the total labor force) to find new work. Service-based economies face similar challenges. Up to 30 percent of the labor force in the US and 46 percent of the labor force in Japan may be displaced by automation.

    China’s labor market is already experiencing some disruption. According to the China Development Research Foundation, automation has replaced up to 40 percent of workers in some companies. For example, one of China’s most popular beverage brands, Wahaha, has trimmed an assembly line workforce from 200-300 workers down to just a handful of individuals. Foxconn — a company based in Taiwan that has factories across the Chinese mainland — replaced 400,000 jobs with robots between 2012 and 2016.

    However, tracking workforce displacement can be difficult. Estimates of the number of jobs displaced under Dongguan’s “Robot-Replaces-Man” initiative range from 71,000 to 86,000; but some reports suggest that this displacement was not entirely caused by automation. Cheung Kong School of Business asserted that many of the workers laid off under Dongguan’s program were displaced because of relocation not automation, as many firms have relocated facilities to China’s interior where wages are cheaper.

    Job Loss & Gain by Sector due to Automation between 2017-37 (millions)
    Sector Job Loss Job Gain Net Gain
    Services 72 169 97
    Construction 15 29 14
    Industry 59 63 4
    Agriculture 57 35 -22
    Total 204 297 93
    Source:PricewaterhouseCoopers

    Although automation will make some forms of human labor obsolete, it also brings with it the promise of new jobs. The WEF estimates that automation will create 58 million more jobs than it replaces by 2022. According to PricewaterhouseCoopers, between 2017 to 2037, China’s service, construction, and industry sectors will experience positive net job creation from AI and related technologies.  The agriculture sector, however, will see permanent job loss as some of China’s automation programs are looking to eliminate human labor. For instance, Jiangsu Province launched a pilot program in 2018 that employs unmanned tractors, rice transplanters, pesticide applicators, and fertilization equipment aided by a navigational satellite in lieu of human labor.

    Chinese workers will need to develop the skills required for the new jobs created by automation, making continuing-education programs increasingly valuable. Beijing has taken steps towards building a lifelong education system, but its progress on this front is behind that of other wealthy countries. The EIU ranks China’s workforce transition programs for vocational training at 21st place. This ranking is well behind Singapore, which offers funding for employee training at small and medium enterprises, and Germany, which funds up to 80 percent of fees for human resources transformation projects. To close this gap and prepare its workforce for automation, China will need to intensify its continuing-education efforts. ChinaPower