中国女性社会地位是否低于他国?

中国女性社会地位是否低于他国?
中国女性社会地位是否低于他国?
中国女性社会地位是否低于他国? Top
    繁體

    高速的现代化发展让中国人民的生活水平日益提高,经济机会不断增加。然而在此进程中,男女受益却并不平等。阻碍中国性别平等的障碍数不胜数,其中, 明显的薪资差异与失衡的政治参与比例仅仅是其中两例。随着中国继续推进其社会经济发展,弥补这些缺陷将成为重中之重。

    Global Gender Index

    中国宪法规定妇女“在生活等各个方面享有同男子平等的权利”,过去几十年,中国女性的权益确有显著改善。例如,随着中国经济的发展,女性的预期寿命延长,识字率也在上升。然而,中国在提高女性地位方面的速度如今已被他国反超。中国在该指数中的排名从2006年115个国家中的63位猛跌至2017年144个国家中的第100位。


    中国女性健康状况展望

    完善的医疗系统与良好的健康状况是衡量两性平等的关键指标。与其他发展中国家相似,随着中国越发富裕,公民的预期寿命也不断延长。2016年出生的中国女性预期寿命为77.8岁,比2000出生的女性多出4年,比1980年的多9.5年。虽然中国女性的预期寿命早在1970年就超过了全球平均水平,但与高收入的邻国日本(87.1岁)与韩国(85.2岁)相比仍有差距。

    健康状况的改善主要基于政府的措施。中国共产党执政后不久,便推出由国家主导的公共医疗卫生服务,低价或无偿为人民提供医疗服务。而在20世纪80年代,中国医疗卫生系统则向市场化转型。在2009年,中国时任主席胡锦涛启动了全面医疗改革,要求做到“人人享有基本医疗卫生服务”。这项工作取得了基本成功,考虑到中国庞大的人口规模,能够实现这一点更是不易。截至2012年,95%的中国居民享有基本医疗保障。

    为提高中国女性健康,中国政府还专门制定了一系列针对女性的纲要,包括《中国妇女发展纲要(2001—2010年)》与随后颁布的《中国妇女发展纲要(2011—2020年)》。两份文件均表示,要为女性提供更多预防性检查、基本生殖卫生服务以及卫生与营养教育。这些举措已取得了切实成果。中国国家统计局发布的一项调查结果显示,2013年接受一般疾病检查的女性人数比增至68.7%,较2010年增加了7.5个百分点。

    FDI

    中国的经济发展不仅仅提升了人民的生活水平,更改善了人民的健康状况. 点击这里 了解中国各方面的发展指标.

    孕产妇死亡率等健康指标也反映出了积极的变化。根据世界银行数据,中国孕产妇死亡率自1990年起已大幅降低,从每10万活产中有97例死亡孕产妇到2015年仅27例死亡。这一比例优于巴西(100000:44)和印度(100000:174)等其他大型发展中经济体。经合组织国家平均每10万活产中有14例孕产妇死亡,其中芬兰以100000:3的比例遥遥领先。

    中国2010年的人口普查结果显示,以安徽省为例,每100个出生男婴所对应的女婴数还不足80。

    中国也在大力改善女性的产后护理情况。国务院2012年颁布法律,将带薪产假延长至14周,一些省份甚至延长至一整年。虽然与许多富裕的欧洲国家相比,中国政府规定的14周带薪产假相形见绌,但这已远远优于没有联邦法定带薪产假的美国。

    虽然中国在女性预期寿命与健康状况方面已取得进展,但仍然存在出生性别比例失衡的问题。独生子女政策的影响与长期的“重男轻女”文化导致男女出生比例高达100:87,让中国在世界经济论坛调查的144个国家中排名垫底。

    农村地区的出生性别比更为失调。中国2010年的人口普查结果显示,以安徽省为例,每100个出生男婴所对应的女婴数还不足80。但这一比例可能无法充分反映中国的性别比例,因为一些女婴在出生时存在瞒报,随着年龄增长,因社会福利、医疗卫生与教育需求才又补登户口。

    如今,中国面临着年轻未婚男性人口攀升的挑战。预计到2020年,单身男性将增至3000万人。性别失衡也会带来消极的社会经济影响,包括劳动力人口减少与人口贩卖行为增多。然而,随着时间的推移,中国的性别比例有望趋于平稳。据联合国预测,中国的男女性别比到2050年将达到106:100


    中国女性受教育机会

    全球范围内,女性的受教育程度往往低于男性,这限制了她们的经济收益前景,也与早孕率升高息息相关

    近年来,中国各地全力以赴,在全国范围内进行教育普及。1986年通过的《九年制义务教育法》和1995年的《中华人民共和国教育法》规定男女在入学、学位与留学方面享有平等的权利。借此举措,女性识字率从2000年的86.5%提高到2016年的92.7%。虽然成绩喜人,但中国在全球排名中依然靠后,远远低于识字率超过99%的高度发达经济体。

    经年累月,中国的义务教育法进一步提高了国民识字率。中国女性的平均就学年限已从1990年的4.8年增长到2015年的7.2年,小学教育几乎全面普及。绝大多数中国年轻女性(95.9%)可以升入中学。相比初等教育88.3%、中等教育75.9%的全球平均入学率,中国的表现可谓更胜一筹。

    自2008年以来,相比男性,中国女性接受高等教育与研究生教育的可能性更高。根据中国教育部数据,2016年,女性中国高校本科生人数的52.5%。世界经济论坛在高等教育性别均衡的排名中,将中国列为第一。

    但在中国的顶尖大学中,性别比例仍倾向于男性。2018年,北京大学的男女比例为53:47,清华大学女性占比更低,男女比例高达68:32。相比之下,女生出国留学的可能性高于男性。2014年,中国留美学生中的女性占51%,留英学生中占63%。

    2018年中国顶尖大学男女比例
    世界大学排名 学校 女生 (%)
    27 北京大学 47
    30 清华大学 32
    116 复旦大学 51
    169 南京大学 50
    177 浙江大学 22
    188 上海交通大学 41
    资料来源:泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名

    中国的城乡差距进一步影响了男女接受教育的平等机会。中国社会福利基金会2016年的一份报告表明,虽然农村女童中有96.1%接受过小学教育,但仅有79.3%能升入中学。有人指出,比例下降是由于父母的期望值较低,农村女性的就业机会也较少。

    中国政府正努力缩小农村和城市女孩之间的差距。以四川省为例,提高教育质量的工作包括为农村小学建立图书馆、多媒体教室和完善的学校基础设施。宁夏和甘肃省也投入使用了多媒体教室,用于在学校开设直播课程,实现城乡学生资源共享。


    中国女性的经济机遇

    中国的经济增长带动了国家的整体繁荣,但中国女性却受益相对较小。整个20世纪80年代,有平均高达80%的女性人口参与劳动。然而到2017年,女性的劳动参与率却降至68.8%,仅略高于美国(66.1%),大致与日本(68.4%)持平。这一下降趋势与巴西和南非等其他主要发展中国家相悖,后者同时期的女性劳动参与率均有所增加。

    据人权观察组织称,2018年发布的中国国家公务员岗位招聘中,有19%提到“只要男士”、“男士优先”或“适合男士”。

    这一趋势背后的原因多种多样,但中国不断变化的社会结构与经济现代化通常被认为是主要原因。例如,20世纪90年代,中国国有企业的重组就极大的影响了女性的就业率。私有化进程虽然旨在提高生产力与效率,却导致了通常为女性的低技能工人遭到裁员。

    中国的发展对于男性裨益更多。城市男性与女性工作者之间的收入差距从1990年的15%扩大到2000年的25%,而这一差距已持续二十年之久。2017年招聘网的一项调查显示,中国女性的平均收入比男性同事低22%

    有鉴于此,世界经济论坛毫不意外地将中国在男女薪酬平等方面排在全球第70位,分别次于美国第27位、英国第53位。韩国的人均国民总收入是中国的两倍多,而其薪酬不平等程度甚至高于中国,在薪酬平等排名中位列全球倒数第五。2015年,韩国女性与男性的人均薪酬差异竟高达27000美元。同年,中国女性与男性的薪酬差异约为5000美元。

    薪酬差异的背后也有其他因素。大约50%的中国女性从事秘书、销售与会计工作,其薪酬通常低于57%中国男性都在从事的销售、技术与制造岗位。管理层岗位中女性的缺乏则进一步加剧了薪资差异。据世界经济论坛称,在中国,高管人员中仅17%为女性。这些因素并非中国独有,因为德国也只有29%的管理层职位由女性担任。在日本,这一比例则仅为12%。

    Gender Inequality in China: A Conversation with Leta Hong Fincher

    另一些障碍则固化了这些不平等现象。例如,中国女性的正式退休年龄至少比男性早五年,这降低了她们的潜在收入。歧视现象在招聘过程中也屡见不鲜。据人权观察组织称,2018年发布的中国国家公务员岗位招聘中,有19%提到“只要男士”、“男士优先”或“适合男士”。

    近年来,中国女性则在创业领域中发挥着主导作用。2017年世界经济论坛的一份报告指出,在中国新增的互联网公司中,55%由女性创办,中国企业家中也有超过四分之一是女性。根据万事达卡发布的2018年全球女性创业者指数,中国在所调查的60多个国家中排名29,仅次于德国(第23位)与法国(第24位)等国。


    中国女性的政治参与度

    全球女性在政治赋权方面都将继续面临重重阻碍。根据世界银行的统计,女性在全球各国的议会席位中仅占23.6%。中国女性的政治参与水平相对较低。在世界经济论坛的女性参政程度排名中,中国位列第77,高于同样人口众多的印度(第90位),但远远落后于美国(第19位)。卢旺达以议会中47.4%的女性席位拔得头筹。

    自1949年以来,在现在人数达到25人的中共中央政治局中的历史上,一共只出现过6名女性成员。

    虽然政府公开支持性别平等,但男女的政治参与度仍存在巨大差异。2016年,中国共产党中的女性成员仅占党员总数的四分之一。同样,在2018年举行的全国人民代表大会第十三届会议上,只有24.9%的代表是女性。从未有女性在中共中央政治局常委会中任职,也从未有任何女性担任过国家主席。自1949年以来,在现在人数达到25人的中共中央政治局中,一共只出现过6名女性成员。

    中国政府已采取相对应措施以鼓励女性更多地参与政治。从2011年至2015年,在联合国的协助下,中华全国妇女联合会针对农村妇女领导力与政治参与度的培训计划给与了支持。

    但这些努力的效果并不显著。从2006年至2017年,中国在世界经济论坛《全球性别差距报告中》的排名下滑了25位,在144个国家中排名77位。除法国外,七国集团的所有成员都出现了类似的下滑。与之相反,一些国家的排名有所上升,智利的排名就从2006年的56位跃升至2017年的36位。

    中国女性越发积极地通过抗议维护自身权利,但激进发声却愈加困难。最近,中国也参与到“Me Too(我也是)”运动中,中国女性开展活动,抗议谴责在大学与工作场所发生的性侵与性剥削行为,但这却迅速遭到了审查。这一运动的标签在中国知名网站微博上变为热门话题后不久,便被审查机构删除。

    此前由民间发起为,为女性维权的运动也曾遭受政府的阻挠。女权五姐妹是由五名中国女性组成、以社会活动而闻名的团体,她们于2015年因抗议地铁性骚扰行为而被捕。尽管已从监狱释放,但她们如今仍旧被贴着“犯罪嫌疑人”的标签。

    本文由国际战略研究中心中国实力项目发表,如有转载,请标明出处。ChinaPower

    Photo Credit: AFP Photo

    China Power Team. "中国女性社会地位是否低于他国?" China Power. 九月 27, 2018. Updated 九月 28, 2018. Accessed November 19, 2019. https://chinapower.csis.org/china-gender-inequality/?lang=zh-hans

Do women in China face greater inequality than women elsewhere?

Do women in China face greater inequality than women elsewhere?
Do women in China face greater inequality than women elsewhere?
Do women in China face greater inequality than women elsewhere? Top
    简体 / 繁體

    Rapid modernization has enabled China to provide its citizens with improved living standards and increased economic opportunities. Yet this process has yielded uneven gains between men and women. Pronounced wage gaps and imbalanced political representation are just two of the many issues hindering gender equality in China. Working to address these inadequacies is essential for China as it continues its socio-economic development.

    Global Gender Index

    China’s constitution guarantees women “equal rights with men in all spheres of life,” and over the last several decades, women in China have enjoyed some notable gains. Life expectancy and literacy rates, for instance, have risen as China’s economy has developed. This progress, however, has been outpaced by the rest of the world. China’s ranking in the index fell sharply from 63rd out of 115 countries in 2006 to 100th out of 144 countries in 2017.


    Chinese Women’s Health Prospects

    Access to healthcare and positive health outcomes are key measures of gender equality. Similar to other developing countries, as China has grown richer its citizens have enjoyed a higher life expectancy. Chinese women born in 2016 can expect to live 77.8 years, an increase of 4.2 years from 2000 and 9.5 years from 1980. While female life expectancy in China has surpassed the global average since 1970, it still falls short of high-income neighbors like Japan (87.1 years) and South Korea (85.2 years).

    Improvements in health outcomes have primarily been driven by government initiatives. Soon after taking power in 1949, the Communist Party created a state-driven health service that was offered at little to no cost for its citizens. These services were transformed into a market-based healthcare system in the 1980s. In 2009, President Hu Jintao initiated comprehensive healthcare reforms to enable “everyone to enjoy basic healthcare services.” This effort has largely succeeded, which is all the more impressive given China’s massive population. As of 2012, 95 percent of Chinese citizens receive a modest level of healthcare coverage.

    Beijing has also instituted programs specifically designed for women. These include the National Program for Women’s Development 2001-2010 and the subsequent National Program for Women’s Development 2011-2020 – both of which increased access to preventive screenings, standard reproductive healthcare services, and health and nutritional education. Such measures have delivered tangible gains. A survey issued by the National Bureau of Statistics revealed that in 2013 the number of women undergoing screenings for general diseases rose to 68.7 percent, a 7.5 percentage increase from 2010.

    FDI

    China has made significant strides in improving standards of living and health outcomes. Learn more about how China's ongoing development compares to other countries around the world.

    Other health indicators, such as the maternal mortality rate, also reflect positive change. According to the World Bank, China has dramatically lowered its maternal mortality ratio from 97 deaths per 100,000 live births in 1990 to only 27 deaths in 2015. This ratio surpasses those found in other large developing economies like Brazil (44:100,000) and India (174:100,000). OECD countries average 14 deaths per 100,000 live births, with Finland’s ratio of 3:100,000 leading the way.

    China’s sex ratio at birth is the most imbalanced in the world, with only 87 girls born per 100 boys.

    China has also taken strides to improve postnatal care. A law introduced by the State Council in 2012 increased paid maternity leave to 14 weeks, and in some provinces, an entire year. Although the standard 14 weeks pales in comparison to the paid leave offered by many wealthy European countries, it is a significant improvement over the US, which has no federally mandated leave.

    While China has achieved a higher life expectancy and better health outcomes for women, it still suffers from an imbalanced sex ratio at birth. The lingering effects of the One-Child Policy and the longstanding cultural “son bias” have contributed to a female-to-male ratio of 87:100 at birth, ranking China last out of 144 countries surveyed by the WEF.

    The sex ratio at birth is even more pronounced in rural areas. China’s 2010 census revealed that in Anhui, for instance, the ratio was less than 80 females to 100 males. Importantly, this ratio may not fully capture China’s sex ratio, as some women who were hidden from authorities at birth have been added to official records as they age and require social services, healthcare, and education.

    China now faces the challenge of a rising population of young unmarried men. The number of single men is expected to grow to 30 million in 2020. This imbalance has been associated with negative socio-economic consequences, including a declining labor force and an increase in human trafficking. Over time, however, China’s sex ratio is expected to level out. According to the United Nations, China’s sex ratio is projected to reach 106 males per 100 females by 2050.


    Chinese Women’s Access to Education

    Across the globe, women face significant educational disadvantages. Women often receive less schooling than men, which limits their economic prospects and has been linked with higher rates of early pregnancy.

    China has made a concerted effort to boost access to education for its entire population. The 1986 Nine-Year Compulsory Education Law and the 1995 Education Law of the People’s Republic of China established equal access to enrollment, degrees, and study abroad programs. These measures have contributed to a rise in the literacy rate of women from 86.5 percent in 2000 to 92.7 percent in 2016. While noteworthy, this still places China in the lower half of global rankings, well behind highly developed economies where literacy is over 99 percent.

    Over time, China’s compulsory education laws are likely to further improve literacy rates. The mean years of schooling for women in China grew from 4.8 years in 1990 to 7.2 in 2015, and primary school enrollment is nearly universal. The vast majority of young Chinese women (95.9 percent) move on to secondary schools. These levels of enrollment are much higher than their respective global averages – 88.3 percent for primary education and 75.9 percent for secondary education.

    Since 2008, Chinese women have been more likely than men to continue onto tertiary and postgraduate education. According to the Ministry of Education, women constituted 52.5 percent of undergraduate students in China’s colleges and universities in 2016. The WEF ranks China as number 1 in gender balance for tertiary education.

    At China’s top universities, gender ratios still skew toward men. In 2018, the female-to-male ratio at Peking University was 47 to 53, while the ratio at Tsinghua University was lower at 32 to 68. In contrast, female students are more likely to study abroad than their male peers. In 2014, women accounted for 51 percent of Chinese students studying in the US and 63 percent of those in the UK.

    Female to Male Ratio at Top Chinese Universities in 2018
    World University Ranking School Female (%)
    27 Peking University 47
    30 Tsinghua University 32
    116 Fudan University 51
    169 Nanjing University 50
    177 Zhejiang University 22
    188 Shanghai Jiao Tong University 41
    Source:Times Higher Education World University Rankings

    China’s urban-rural disparities further affect equal access to education. A 2016 report by the China Social Welfare Foundation found that while 96.1 percent of rural girls had enrolled in primary education, only 79.3 percent moved on to secondary levels. Some note that this drop is due to lower parental expectations and fewer employment opportunities for rural women.

    Beijing is working to reduce the gap between rural and urban girls. In Sichuan province, for instance, efforts to elevate the quality of education include providing libraries, multimedia classrooms, and improved school infrastructure to rural elementary schools. Multimedia classrooms have also been utilized in the Ningxia and Gansu provinces, where schools have introduced livestreamed lessons to allow resource-sharing between urban and rural students.


    Economic Opportunities for Women in China

    China’s economic growth has improved overall prosperity, but Chinese women have benefited less from these gains. Throughout the 1980s, female participation in the labor force was high, averaging around 80 percent. By 2017, however, female workforce participation had dropped to 68.8 percent, only slightly higher than the US (66.1 percent) and roughly equal to Japan (68.4 percent). This decreasing trend runs contrary to other major developing countries, like Brazil and South Africa, which witnessed increased female participation over the same period.

    According to Human Rights Watch, 19 percent of the Chinese national civic service jobs posted in 2018 included requirements such as “men only,” “men preferred,” or “suitable for men.”

    The reasons for this sharp decline are multifaceted, but China’s changing social structure and economic modernization are commonly cited as primary factors. For instance, the restructuring of China’s state-owned enterprises in the 1990s had particularly negative consequences for women. Although aimed at boosting productivity and efficiency, the privatization process precipitated layoffs of low-skilled, and often female, workers.

    China’s development has also disproportionately benefited men. The income gap between urban male and female workers increased from 15 percent in 1990 to 25 percent in 2000. This disparity has persisted over the last two decades. A 2017 poll reported that Chinese women on average earn 22 percent less than their male coworkers.

    Given these factors, the WEF unsurprisingly ranks China 70th globally in wage equality, behind the US at 27th and the UK at 53rd. South Korea, which has a GNI per capita more than twice that of China, is riddled with even greater wage inequality than China. Ranked in the bottom fifth globally in terms of wage equality, South Korean women earned a shocking $27,000 per capita1 less than men in 2015. In the same year, Chinese women suffered a wage discrepancy of roughly $5,000.

    Other factors are also at work. Around 50 percent of Chinese women work in secretarial, sales, and accounting positions, which typically pay less than the sales, technology, and manufacturing positions that employ 57 percent of Chinese men. The noticeable lack of women in managerial positions further exacerbates this issue. According to the WEF, only 17 percent of senior managers in China are women. These factors are not unique to China, as only 29 percent of managerial positions in Germany are held by women. In Japan, it is a meager 12 percent.

    Gender Inequality in China: A Conversation with Leta Hong Fincher

    Additional roadblocks perpetuate these inequalities. For instance, the official retirement age for Chinese women is at least five years earlier than men, which reduces their potential earnings. Discrimination extends to the hiring process as well. According to Human Rights Watch, 19 percent of the Chinese national civic service jobs posted in 2018 included requirements such as “men only,” “men preferred,” or “suitable for men.”

    Entrepreneurship stands as one area where Chinese women take a leading role. A 2017 WEF report noted that women set up 55 percent of new internet companies in China, and more than a quarter of all the entrepreneurs in the country were women. The 2018 Mastercard Index of Women Entrepreneurs also ranks China 29th out of more than 60 countries surveyed, just behind countries like Germany (23rd) and France (24th).


    Women’s Political Participation in China

    Women continue to face barriers in terms of political empowerment around the world. According to the World Bank, only 23.6 percent of parliamentary seats are held by women globally. Women in China face comparably low levels of representation. The WEF ranks China 77th in terms of the political involvement of women, above similarly populous India (90th), but well behind the US (19th). Rwanda, with 47.4 percent of seats in its parliament occupied by women, ranks first globally.

    Since 1949, China has had only six female members on the 25-member Politburo.

    While the government officially supports gender equality, large disparities in political representation remain. In 2016, female membership in the CCP was only one quarter of total party membership. Similarly, only 24.9 percent of representatives in the 13th session of the National People’s Congress hosted in 2018 were women. No woman has ever sat on China’s Politburo Standing Committee, nor has any woman ever held the presidency. Since 1949, China has had only six female members on the 25-member Politburo.2

    Beijing has introduced some measures to encourage greater political participation among women. With assistance from the United Nations, the All-China Women’s Federation supported training programs on leadership and political participation for rural women from 2011 to 2015.

    Such efforts may fall short in facilitating women’s political participation. China’s 2017 ranking in the WEF’s Global Gender Gap report has fallen 25 places since 2006, placing it at 77th out of 144 countries. With the exception of France, all members of the G-7 witnessed a similar decline. In contrast, some countries rose in the rankings, such as Chile, which jumped from 56th place in 2006 to 36th in 2017.

    Chinese women have become more active in asserting their rights through protest, but outlets for activism are increasingly difficult to find. China’s recent participation in the ‘Me Too’ movement, in which Chinese women campaigned against sexual abuses and exploitation in universities and workplaces, was met with swift censorship. The movement’s hashtag on China’s popular microblogging website, Weibo, was removed by censors shortly after it gained traction online.

    Previous instances of activism also faced pushback from the government. The Feminist Five, a group of five Chinese women famous for their social activism, were arrested in 2015 over plans to protest sexual harassment in subways. They are still labeled “criminal suspects” despite their release from prison. ChinaPower

    1. Measured in 2011 PPP$.
    2. Prior to 2007, the Politburo had less than 25 members.