中國第一艘航母遼寧號與其他國家的航母相比,實力如何?

中國第一艘航母遼寧號與其他國家的航母相比,實力如何?
中國第一艘航母遼寧號與其他國家的航母相比,實力如何?
中國第一艘航母遼寧號與其他國家的航母相比,實力如何? Top
    简体

    中國第一艘航空母艦遼寧號已開始為中國人民解放軍海軍服役,此動向引起了中國新聞界以及各地軍事專家的廣泛關注。在一部分人看來,遼寧號的服役是中國作為世界大國的象徵﹔對於其他人來說,它代表了中國海軍向更強勢的姿態所邁出的重要一步。

    遼寧號的前身是蘇聯海軍的庫茲涅佐夫元帥級航空母艦次艦, 並在1990 年改名為瓦良格號。蘇聯解體以後,澳門創律旅游娛樂有限公司在1998年購買了未完成的船體。三年後,這艘船被中方從烏克蘭拖回中國,並在那裡進行了船體、雷達和電子系統的現代化改裝。經過多年裝備,遼寧號於2012年9月作為航母訓練船交付海軍軍隊,但不隸屬於海軍三大艦隊。在船交付兩個月後,中國海軍的艦載機在船艦上進行了第一次起飛和著陸。

    雖然遼寧號所配的艦載機飛行大隊尚需幾年才能完全融入中國海軍,但據報導,於2016年11月,遼寧號已做好了戰鬥準備。2016年12月中旬,遼寧號航母艦隊初次進行了實彈演習。 中國在開發航母方面取得的重大進展更使目光焦距在遼寧號所具備的能力,以及這些能力對中國崛起所帶來的意義。

    重要發展:遼寧號參軍五年後,中國海軍的第二艘航母 001A型在2017年4月26日下水。若想了解更多信息,請參閱我們的解析


    遼寧號3D模型



    遼寧號和其他國家的航母相比, 有什麽不同?

    遼寧號與其他國家的航空母艦在規模和能力上都有所不同。雖然遼寧號整體能力受到其效率相對較低的動力系統和艦載機發射系統不足的限制,但遼寧號依舊是推進中國海軍能力建設的重要一環。

    當考慮航空母艦各方面的軍事能力時,噸位和甲板側尺寸乃顯示載彈量和艦載機數量的重要依據。遼寧號不是一艘小軍艦,但也不是亞太地區最大或最有能力的航母。遼寧號排水量約6.6萬短噸 (60,000 公噸),超出日本的出雲級直升機護衛艦 3.9萬短噸,而長度上則超出了60米。遼寧號對比蘇聯建造的印度航母超日王號有更大的優勢:遼寧號的甲板長超出20米,排水量超出約1.7  萬短噸。

    遼寧號作為中國的入門級航母,在不久的將來,對有駛向海外外交打算的中國海軍有重大意義…它已經具有很大的象徵意義和影響。

    -安德魯·埃裡克森

    遼寧的規模遠低於美國尼米茲級的雷根號航母,後者目前駐紮在日本美國第七艦隊,其噸位是遼寧號重量的160% ,其甲板尺寸更比遼寧號長30米。雷根號在滿載時排水量達97,000短噸 (88,000 公噸),體長333米,遠遠超出遼寧號。這些數據表明,遼寧號既不是輕量級航母,也不是像美國雷根號般的超級航母。

    美國海軍的最新的超級航空母艦杰拉爾德·福特號超與雷根號大小大致相同,約重112,000短噸(101,600公噸)。該航空母艦採用了多項新的技術,其中包括了受矚目的電磁彈射器(EMALS)。與蒸汽式彈射器相比,電磁彈射器可以發射較重的飛機,並且還可以減少對機身的壓力,從而減少維護需求。杰拉爾德·福特號預計將於2019年或2020年部署。

    但遼寧號的中量級的重量掩蓋不了其有限的能力。對於航母來說, 更快的速度意味著能在更短時間內打擊目標和離開危險,但遼寧號的汽輪機動力裝置限制了其最高速度。遼寧號的動力系統極有可能參考了前蘇聯劣質的設計和維護, 將遼寧號最多航速限制在大約20節的速度。

    這些數據與印度超日王號相當,但可能遠低於核動力的美國裡根號航母每小時30節的最高速度。尼米茲級航空母艦能從其核反應堆產生更多的動力,並且在其長達50年的使用壽命期間隻需進行一次換料綜合大修。傑拉爾德·福特號也可以達到超過每小時30節的速度。 傑拉爾德·福特號更採用了動力更強的新的反應堆設計,功率要比前任強3倍


    遼寧號的艦載機聯隊和其他國家相比如何?

    雖然遼寧號的艦載機飛行員體現了中國海軍空中能力的重大飛躍,但其能力跟遼寧號一樣是有限的。即便遼寧號艦載機能力先進,但是遼寧號本身落後的飛機發射系統和相對不足的人員限制了航母的能力和發揮。

    雖然遼寧號上的24架殲15(J-15)多用途戰鬥機比日本出雲號直升機護衛艦上的反潛艇直升機規模更大,能力更強,但仍遠遠不及裡根號上超過55架的固定翼飛機。遼寧號上的固定翼飛機雖然先進,但其飛行範圍和耐力都有限。 殲15戰鬥機是俄羅斯第四代蘇霍伊蘇33的中國改良版本。尽管第四代戰鬥機擁有數字飛行航空電子設備和先進的雷達,與第三代戰鬥機的模擬系統相比有顯著改進,但缺乏如美國F-35C等第五代戰鬥機所擁有的低可偵測性技術。


    A Conversation with Andrew Erickson

     

    0:05 - Why does China see the need for an aircraft carrier - is it a symbol of great power status or does it address a specific security need?

    1:24 - In what scenarios is China likely to use its aircraft carrier?

    6:00 - What progress has been made in developing an indigenous carrier and how will a second carrier enhance China’s capabilities?

    12:21 - Will the Liaoning transform China into a naval superpower?

    14:14 - How much training is required to make the Liaoning fully operational?


    盡管遼寧號具有先進的設備,殲15的射程和有效載荷方面都受限於遼寧號的甲板。遼寧號的艦機發射系統依靠的是滑躍式的甲板,而不是美國和法國所使用的蒸汽彈射器。滑躍式甲板會讓戰鬥機在起飛的時候就耗費相當多的內部燃料,從而嚴重削弱其有效載荷。分析人士估算,從遼寧號起飛的殲15戰鬥機的最大起飛重量將被限制在62,000磅左右。相比之下,美國裡根號可以發射的最大起飛重量為10萬磅。最近已經証實,中國正在建造的完全由本土設計的第二艘航母也會使用滑躍式的甲板。

    無獨有偶,由於同樣缺乏彈射器,印度超日王號上所搭載的俄羅斯制造的第四代米格-29K(MiG-29K)戰鬥機也面臨同樣的起飛和射程限制。雖然航母可以使用空中加油的方式從而讓飛機加載更多的武器,但這種方案不僅執行起來相對困難,中國海軍的空中加油能力也尚未成熟

    除了硬件性能上的欠缺,遼寧號的艦載機飛行員在培訓和經驗上也落後於其他國家。中國航空母艦艦載機飛行員在2012年11月才開始在航母上訓練,而在2015年,中國海軍才正式認証了國內訓練的首批殲15飛行員。據美國國防部稱,中國預計在2016年正式部署航母艦載機隊。然而遼寧號的艦載機飛行員、指揮官和後勤人員的操作熟練程度則還是個未知數。常規的艦載機飛行訓練是有一定風險的:自1949年到1988間的40年裡,美國海軍和陸戰隊共損失12000架戰機,死亡8500名飛行人員,這才將美國海軍和海軍陸戰隊飛機的事故率降低到了與美國陸軍相同的水平。雖然中國可以從其他國家的經歷中吸取經驗,但遼寧號的航空兵在海上更苛刻的作戰條件下的執行能力仍有待觀察。

    A Conversation with Andrew Erickson (Uncut Interview)

    中國航母的問題不在航母本身…而取決於航母艦隊所需要的復雜航載飛機體系。這是航母的關鍵價值。也是航母得以投射實際打擊能力的關鍵,而遼寧號很難達到美國的高標准。

    -安德魯·埃裡克森


    遼寧號會執行什麽樣任務?

    遼寧號的相關人員以及裝備的實際操作上的限制表明,遼寧號可能最適合執行無高強度沖突的區域性任務。隨著中國海軍提高其能力, 遼寧號以及其伴隨的海軍、艦隊、和飛機可能會執行遠離中國海域的任務。

    遼寧號航飛機不僅欠缺飛機彈射器、電動裝置效率低下、飛行員和支持團隊也相對來說缺乏經驗。 這一系列缺點不利於遼寧號進行長時間的的高強度戰鬥行動,即便這些作戰行動是在中國大陸近海域,在遼寧號能收到陸基飛機和雷達的支持下。因此,中國的戰略家們更主張用遼寧號來進行人道主義援助和救災等任務,或與其他國家進行聯合訓練,展示國旗來體現家力量,以及在宣示南海領土上。此外,遼寧號可以作為中國海軍一個實用的外交工具,為人道主義援助和救災任務提供直升機搭載,參加多國訓練演習,從而凸顯中國向負責任的大國的發展。這一系列行動有助於維護以及執行中國對例如維和等多邊行動的承諾。


    遼寧號3D模型

    Liaoning Aircraft Carrier


    在中國海軍的聯合作戰和訓練能力日益見長,而遼寧號上的人員也在高節奏的操作中越發熟練的情況下,遼寧號的綜合能力可擴展到艦隊防空和遠離中國水域的海上和陸上的沖突處理。這些任務將需要更強的人員支持,事態意識,以及通信和後勤能力,但目前看來,中國海軍還無法達到這些要求。

    綜上所述,鑒於遼寧號目前的運行狀態,全球作戰任務不在遼寧號的計劃範圍內,中國的領導人也可能沒有此意。然而,一些動亂地區的非戰鬥人員撤離、海上維持和海上反恐等任務可為遼寧號提供上好的訓練條件,而這樣的機會反而在不久的將來就可能成為現實。

    即便遼寧號未來的任務指向尚不明確,但從中國國家在遼寧號的建造、改造與部署過程中給予的聲望和關注可看出,中國已將遼寧號定位為中國邁向大國地位的象征。無論遼寧號將來的軍事力量是高是低,該航母可以在亞太區域以及全球範圍內執行多種不同任務,從而予中國嶄新的海軍外交途徑。

    本文由國際戰略研究中心中國實力項目發表,如有轉載,請標明出處。ChinaPower

    Photo Credit: STR/AFP/Getty Images

    China Power Team. "中國第一艘航母遼寧號與其他國家的航母相比,實力如何?" China Power. 20 4 月, 2018. Updated 28 9 月, 2018. Accessed July 29, 2021. https://chinapower.csis.org/aircraft-carrier/?lang=zh-hant

How does China's first
aircraft carrier stack up?
PrintFriendlyTwitterFacebookLinkedInEmail

The entry of China’s first aircraft carrier, the Liaoning, into service with the People’s Liberation Army Navy (PLAN) attracted considerable attention from both the Chinese press and military observers around the world. For some, the Liaoning was a symbol of China’s global power; for others, it represented a significant first step toward a more muscular and assertive Chinese navy.

Originally built as a “heavy aircraft-carrying cruiser” for the Soviet Navy, the ship was laid down as the Riga and renamed the Varyag in 1990. A Chinese travel agency purchased the unfinished hull in 1998, and three years later the ship was towed from the Ukraine to China, where it underwent extensive modernization of its hull, radar, and electronics systems. After years of refits, the Liaoning was commissioned into the PLAN in September 2012 as a training ship unassigned to any of the Navy’s three major fleets. Two months after the ship was commissioned, the PLAN conducted its first carrier-based takeoff and landings.

Although it might be several years before a carrier air regiment is fully integrated into the PLAN, it was reported in November 2016 that the Liaoning is now combat ready. Most recently in mid-December 2016, China staged the first live-fire drills involving the Liaoning. The Chinese have made significant progress in developing their carrier program, raising significant questions about the Liaoning’s capabilities and what these capabilities mean for the rise of China as a global power.

Breaking: Five years after commissioning the Liaoning, China launched its second carrier – the Type 001A – on April 26, 2017. For more information see our analysis

A 3D look at the Liaoning

How is the Liaoning different than other countries’ carriers?

The Liaoning differs from the aircraft carriers of other countries in both size and capability. Although its overall capability is hindered by its comparatively inefficient power plant and underpowered aircraft-launching system, the Liaoning represents an important step in advancing China’s ability to project naval power.

When one considers the respective capabilities of aircraft carriers, tonnage and deck-side size are important indicators for the amount of stores, munitions, and aircraft a carrier can bring to a fight. The Liaoning is by no means a small ship, but it is far from the largest or most capable carrier in the Asia-Pacific. The Liaoning displaces roughly 60,000 tons — over 30,000 tons more than the Japanese helicopter destroyer Izumo — and is nearly 60 meters longer. The Liaoning also boasts a size advantage over the Soviet-built Indian carrier Vikramaditya, with a deck 20 meters longer and weighing approximately 15,000 tons more.

 

Already with China’s so-called starter carrier, Liaoning, there is significant potential in the near future to take it overseas for some basic naval diplomacy . . . and this will already have tremendous symbolic and psychological effects.
Andrew Erickson

 

The Liaoning’s size falls well below the U.S. Nimitz-class carrier USS Ronald Reagan currently stationed with the U.S. Seventh Fleet in Japan, the latter being over 60 percent heavier and 30 meters longer. The Ronald Reagan weighs 97,000 tons fully loaded and spans 333 meters long, far outsizing the Liaoning. The numbers bear out the fact that the Liaoning is neither a lightweight nor a supercarrier like the USS Ronald Reagan.

The Liaoning’s otherwise middleweight size belies its limited capabilities. Higher speed means faster time to target and improved ability to outrun potential threats, but the Liaoning’s steam turbine power plant limits its top speed. Notably, the Soviet power plant upon which its propulsion is likely based suffered from poor design and maintenance and may limit the Liaoning to a typical speed of around 20 knots.

Erickson, Denmark, and Collins, “Beijing’s ‘Starter Carrier’ and Future Steps: Alternatives and Implications,” 32.

These figures are on par with the Indian Vikramaditya, but likely well below the 30-plus-knot top speed of the nuclear-powered USS Ronald Reagan. Nimitz-class aircraft carriers generate considerably more power from their nuclear reactors and  only require one midlife refueling during their approximately 50-year service life.

How does the Liaoning’s air wing compare to the naval air arms of other countries?

The Liaoning’s air wing represents a significant leap in air capability for the PLAN, but its inherent capability is limited much like the carrier itself. The aircraft aboard the Liaoning are capable and advanced, but remain restricted primarily by the ship’s aircraft-launching system and relatively insufficient amount of personnel training.

While the Liaoning’s air wing of 24 Shenyang J-15 multirole fighters is larger and more capable than the antisubmarine helicopters embarked aboard the Japanese Izumo, it falls well short of Ronald Reagan’s over 55 fixed-wing aircraft. The fixed-wing aircraft aboard the Liaoning, although advanced, are limited in both range and endurance. The J-15 aircraft are Chinese-modified variants of the Russian fourth-generation Sukhoi Su-33. Fourth-generation fighters boast digital flight avionics and advanced radars that represent a significant improvement over the analog systems of third-generation aircraft, but lack the low-observable stealth technology of fifth-generation fighter aircraft like the American F-35C.

A Conversation with Andrew Erickson

James Hackett, ed., The Military Balance: The Annual Assessment of Global Military and Capabilities and Defence Economics: 2016 (London, UK: Routledge, for the International Institute for Strategic Studies, 2015), 41, 242.
 

0:05 - Why does China see the need for an aircraft carrier - is it a symbol of great power status or does it address a specific security need?

1:24 - In what scenarios is China likely to use its aircraft carrier?

6:00 - What progress has been made in developing an indigenous carrier and how will a second carrier enhance China’s capabilities?

12:21 - Will the Liaoning transform China into a naval superpower?

14:14 - How much training is required to make the Liaoning fully operational?

Advanced equipment notwithstanding, the J-15 is limited in range and payload by the Liaoning’s lack of an aircraft catapult. The Liaoning’s aircraft-launching system relies upon a ski jump-style deck instead of the steam catapults used by the United States and France, forcing the aircraft to expend considerable internal fuel during takeoff and thereby severely curtailing its payload. For instance, analysts estimate that the maximum takeoff weight for a J-15 from the Liaoning would be limited to approximately 62,000 pounds. By comparison, the USS Ronald Reagan can launch an aircraft with a maximum takeoff weight of 100,000 pounds. It has recently been confirmed that China is building a second carrier that will be built entirely with Chinese designs and technology. China’s second carrier will also use a ski jump for takeoff.

The Liaoning’s shortcomings are not unique to the PLAN—the Indian Vikramaditya’s Russian-made fourth-generation MiG-29K fighters face similar takeoff and range restrictions owing to Vikramaditya’s similar lack of an aircraft catapult. Though carrier operators can bypass the inherent tradeoff between carrying internal fuel and weapons on the aircraft using midair refueling, the practice remains difficult to execute, and the PLAN’s refueling capabilities are not yet fully developed.

Hardware performance aside, the Liaoning’s air wing is also hindered by comparatively less personnel training and experience than other countries. Chinese carrier pilots only began training on the ship in November 2012 and in 2015 the PLAN certified its first air wing of domestically trained J-15 pilots.  According to the DOD, China is expected to deploy the air wing in 2016. Nevertheless, the proficiency of Liaoning’s pilots, commanders, and support staff remains unclear. Conventional fixed-wing carrier aviation is risky and dangerous: reducing the accident rate of U.S. Navy and Marine Corps jet aircraft to the same level as the land-based U.S. Air Force took almost 40 years and cost some 12,000 aircraft and the lives of 8,500 personnel. Although the Chinese have the benefit of learning from the experience of other countries, how the Liaoning’s air wing would actually perform under more demanding operational conditions at sea remains to be seen.

 

A Conversation with Andrew Erickson (Uncut Interview)

The problem here for China is that deck aviation is really not so much about the ship that supports everything . . . it’s really the complex system of systems of aviation operations operating off the carrier. That’s the key value of the carrier. That’s the key to the carrier’s ability to project power in the form of the ability to conduct actual strikes. And that’s where it’s very hard to get anywhere close to the U.S.-type gold standard.
Andrew Erickson

What kinds of missions might the Liaoning perform in the region and around the globe?

The physical and operational limitations of the Liaoning and its associated personnel and equipment indicate that the Liaoning might be best suited for regional missions short of high-intensity conflict. As the PLAN improves its capabilities, future missions could take the Liaoning and its accompanying sailors, fleet escorts, and aircraft farther from China’s periphery.

The Liaoning’s lack of an aircraft catapult, inefficient power plant, and the relative inexperience of its aviators and support team do not augur well for sustained high-intensity combat operations—even within waters close to the Chinese Mainland, where the Liaoning could expect support from land-based aircraft and radars. Accordingly, Chinese strategists advocate using the Liaoning for regional missions—including humanitarian aid and disaster relief (HADR), training exercises with other nations, showing the flag, and asserting Chinese territorial claims in the South China Sea—for which the Liaoning appears better suited. Furthermore, the Liaoning has considerable utility as a tool of naval diplomacy—providing helicopter lift for HADR missions and engaging in multinational training exercises will signal to other countries that China is a responsible rising power. Such efforts would complement China’s growing commitment to multilateral initiatives, such as UN peacekeeping efforts.

Ibid

Explore the Liaoning Aircraft Carrier

As the PLAN improves its combined arms capabilities and the Liaoning’s personnel become proficient in higher-tempo operations, the Liaoning’s repertoire could expand to include fleet air defense and maritime and land strike further afield from Chinese waters. These missions would require enhanced personnel as well as greatly improved situational awareness, communications, and logistical support far from current Chinese bases—assets that the PLAN may not yet possess in sufficient quantity or quality.

In sum, global combat missions remain outside of the Liaoning’s reach given its current operational status, and the status and number of the Liaoning’s potential fleet escorts. Chinese planners may not even have such ambitions in mind. On the other hand, less intensive missions such as noncombatant evacuation, maritime peacekeeping, and maritime antiterrorism provide good training opportunities and will become increasingly feasible for the PLAN in the future.

While the Liaoning’s possible mission set remains unclear, the prestige and attention conferred upon the ship during its construction, subsequent fitting-out, and deployment indicate that Beijing considers the Liaoning a symbol of China’s great-power status. Regardless of the Liaoning’s future abilities, the ship commands a degree of political utility as a tool of naval diplomacy through various operations, regional and global.

After you have typed in some text, hit ENTER to start searching...