中國如何養活14億人口?

中國如何養活14億人口?
中國如何養活14億人口?
中國如何養活14億人口? Top
    简体

    糧食安全對各國的福祉至關重要。在基本糧食保障上的不足會破壞一個國家社會和經濟的穩定,因此有不少在糧食安全上捉襟見肘的國家都是綜合國力脆弱的國家。

    得益於中國近幾十年來接近兩位數的國內生產總值的增長,中國領導人在全國範圍內擴大糧食供應的工作上進展顯著。然而,繁榮的經濟所帶來的新的人口需求和環境上的壓力逐漸給中國的農業產能帶來了不可小覷的影響。本專題旨在對中國的國內糧食生產、公眾飲食結構的變化以及國際貿易在中國食品安全中的起到的作用進行探討。

    International Food Trade

    International Food Trade

    For best experience, please view on a desktop computer.

    中國不斷變化的膳食結構

    40年來快速的經濟增長大大削減了中國的營養不良人群。根據聯合國糧農組織(FAO)的定義,營養不良特指在一年中,一個人最低的膳食需要無法得到滿足。因此營養不良是衡量長期飢餓狀況的一個關鍵指標。根據聯合國糧農組織的數據,中國的營養不良人群的比例從1990年的23.9%降至2015年的9.3%。與此同時,中國的人均收入水平同期的增長超過了2000個百分點。

    中國銳減的飢餓人口數量更幫助聯合國達到了在2015年將世界上的飢餓人口數量減半的目標。中國是完成了自定目標的29個國家之一。而在這29個國家中,中國在過去兩年中減少營養不良人口中的貢獻佔據了發展中國家總成就的三分之二。另外的一百個國家則沒能實現各自的目標。

    中國的糧食政策一直以來以自給自足為目標。在1996年發布的糧食問題白皮書中,中國制定了一系列諸如在大米,小麥,和玉米等農作物中達到95%自給自足的目標。中國的本土糧食產量的增加很大程度上是為了滿足國內日益增長的糧食需求。

    在過去的40年中,中國在穀物的消耗上1975年的1.25億噸增長到2016年的2.61億噸,漲幅達到一倍之多。在農業上的可觀投資讓中國的農民有能力生產大量的農作物主食,使得中國每年只需要進口幾百萬噸的大米和小麥。中國的穀物生產通常與其消耗量持平。 因此,自2000年代中期以來,中國保持著一比一的產量和消費量。

    相比於中國, 印度的農產業也有著類似的生產和消耗趨勢,但近年來,印度對進口大米的依賴逐步提升。盡管中印兩國在糧食生產上均取得了令人矚目的成就,但相比起像美國這樣的主要穀物出口國仍有一定差距。美國大米和小麥的產量要比其消耗量高1.5到1.7倍。雖然位於南美洲的巴西的本土小麥需求不斷增長,但其仍能產出其小麥消耗量的近兩倍。在澳大利亞,這一比例更為顯著。地廣人稀的澳大利亞擁有世界上最大的人均可耕地面積,因此其小麥產量達到了其消耗量的三倍之多。

    肉類產品方面,中國的年消耗總量從1975年的700萬噸大幅增長到去年的7500萬噸。中國現在的人均肉類消耗量約為50公斤(kg)。考慮到中國龐大的14億的人口,中國目前已經是世界上最大的肉類食品消耗國。而在人均肉類消耗量方面,中國則仍落後於澳大利亞的93公斤(kg)和美國的97公斤(kg),但遠高於日本的人均35.6公斤(kg)。雖然中國國內肉製品產量有了大幅的增長,但肉類的進口已逐漸成為保証中國糧食供給不可或缺的一部分。中國在2016年的肉類進口量達到了360萬噸,而這一數字比上世紀70年代中期增加了幾千個百分點。

    而中國人口的變遷是導致中國肉類食品需求飛速增長的主要原因。中國持續的經濟增長引發了世界歷史上最大的從農村到城鎮的移民潮。隨著8300萬的城鎮新增人口的到來,在2020年,60%的中國總人口預計將落戶於城鎮。相比之下,根據世界銀行的預測分析,印度的城鎮人口在未來將實現4400萬的增長,而這個數字僅僅佔到印度總人口的1.7%。隨著中國中產階級城鎮人口和城鎮人口收入的不斷增多,與之相應變化的是以傳統穀物為主的到更多以肉類為主的膳食結構的轉換。與此同時,中國的城鎮人口也逐漸培養出了對如奶製品等的其他類型食物的興趣。

    為了應對中國人不斷變化的飲食需求,中央政府一直鼓勵加大農業生產的力度。自1980年以來,中國積極的支持本土飼料加工業的發展,並對更高產的動物品種養殖進行補貼。僅在2012年,中國在農業補貼上的開銷就達到了1650億美元。相比之下,農業補貼第二高的日本和第三高的美國分別只有650億美元和300億美元。盡管如此,中國的農業發展仍有不足,在提高效率和保証質量方面尚有待提高。 例如, 中國政府鼓勵農民們在不宜種植的土地上進行開墾, 並向一些比同類進口產品要更昂貴的農作物提供政府補貼。

    由於中國的農村的人均可耕地面積僅為0.19英畝,因此,中國為了在維持經濟增長的同時試圖保証中國人不斷提升的糧食的需求上付出了高昂的代價。在經濟學人智庫的可持續性農業發展的排行中,中國在所有的25個國家中排在了第17位。而這一榜單中,德國和印度分別排在了第一和最後一位。

    中國在“世界糧食安全指標”的排行中位於所有113個國家中的第40位

    中國的國內糧食產能同時也受到了由工業化帶來的環境污染的影響。以重金屬為主的工業污染已經影響到了國內多達1300萬噸的農作物。據估計,由逕流有毒污染物所造成的污染已經影響到了中國六分之一的土地。與此之外, 中國的水資源也受到極大的影響。 中國政府2014年的報告指出將近60%的地下水源已經因為污染而變得不適於飲用,這使得水資源的匱乏也成為中國的一大難題。2013年,涉及到河南等一些南方地區的大面積的土地污染讓中國政府決定在土壤狀況得到根本改善前,禁止農民在約800萬畝受污染的農業地上進行耕種。

    這一系列的問題加劇了中國百姓對政府農業監管能力的不信任。中國在“世界糧食安全指標”的排行中位於所有113個國家中的第40位。相比之下,美國和澳大利亞分別排在第一和第四位。盡管印度的人口數量和居民在食品上的開銷額與中國相似,印度的在糧食質量和糧食安全的排行中僅排在全世界第80位。在這個排行榜中,位於前十名的國家均為OECD國家。

    像08年發生的三聚氰胺毒牛奶和含鉻大米等食品安全事件進一步加深了公眾對政府的不信任。2014年的一項調查顯示,高達80%的受訪者對食品安全的現狀感到不滿。食品安全問題更迫使了國人花更高的價格去購買有機食品和進口食品。

    為了解決食品安全和可持性續發展等眾多問題,中國政府在近年來頒發了一系列新的政策, 包括:

    • 中國的第十三個五年計劃中強調改進農業現代化的效率和質量,並對進口食品和海外食品加工業務採取更開放的態度。
    • 中國環境保護部頒布了在2020年前減少地下水資源污染的計劃。
    • 農業部和國家發改委在2016年12月宣布,計劃用足夠的資本推行政府部門與私人企業在農業發展中的合作。
    • 衛計委在2016年5月發布了新的膳食指南,並建議國人減少50%的肉類消費。
    • 國務院發布了新的指導方針,致力於在2020年前將國內糧的穀物生產穩定在5.5億噸,與此同時,重點強調提高非穀物的質量。

    雖然轉基因農作物在中國仍處於探索開發階段,但這個技術或許會是一個潛在的提高環境抵抗力穩定性並提高產能的方法。雖然目前中國政府只允許種植轉基因棉花和木瓜,但是中國已經計劃種植大豆和玉米等更多的轉基因農作物。然而,社會各界對轉基因食品技術的反對之聲絡繹不絕。在遼寧省發生的暗中種植及倒賣非法轉基因玉米的事件引發了公眾對轉基因技術的監管和安全標準的質疑。2016年,中國最大的穀物生產省黑龍江省頒布了一項針對種植,加工和販賣轉基因農作物的禁令。如同此類的民間和省級政府的反對或許會給中國通過轉基因技術來緩解糧食壓力這一嘗試造成障礙。

    中國對進口食品的需要

    近年來,國內人口對糧食質量和數量的需求的不斷提高, 導致了中國需要進口更多的糧食來補貼國內糧食生產的諸多不足。更促使了中國的領導人重新審視長期以來糧食上自給自足的策略。因此在2013年12月的中央農村工作會議中,我們看到政府倡導的“以國內供應和適度進口”來保障足夠的糧食供應。

    在過去的十年中,中國的糧食進口額從2005年的約600萬美元增長到2015年的3億美元。中國的糧食進口佔其商品進口總額的6.7%,而這一數字要高於美國的5.7%,印度的5.6%, 和巴西的5.1%。

    全球最大經濟體食品進口/出口比例 (2015)
    國家 佔商品進口額 (%) 佔商品出口額(%)
    美國 5.9 10.1
    中國 6.7 2.8
    日本  10.0  0.8
    德國  7.9 5.5
    英國  10.1  6.7
    數據來源: 世界銀行

    在過去的五年中,中國是世界上最大的蔬菜進口國。在2014年,大豆佔到了中國蔬菜進口總量的64%。一個導致大豆需求量飛漲的主要原因是中國迅速發展的牲畜養殖業,大豆是動物飼料的重要成分。然而可耕地面積的稀缺和政府在主要農作物上自給自足的政策使得中國在大豆類的產能上有一定的匱乏。中國幾乎所有的進口大豆都來自於巴西(47%)和美國(42%)。

    針對國內糧食生產的不足,中國的公司正在大力在海外購置以農業為本的資產。中國目前是澳大利亞的第五大土地持有國。而在2015年,中國是澳大利亞最大的農業企業投資來源國。同年,中國在購買澳大利亞的農場和食品設備上花費了大約25億美元,這一數字幾乎是澳大利亞土地資產最大持有國美國在同項開銷上的兩倍。

    然而,中國的一系列收購可用土地的策略在澳大利亞當地遭遇到了阻力。澳大利亞財政部長斯科特·莫裡森(Scott Morrison)叫停了兩家不同的中國企業收購S·基德曼(S. Kidman and Co.)公司的計劃。該公司是澳大利亞最大的養牛企業,它所擁有的土地面積達到了澳大利亞國土面積的2.5%,大致相當於韓國的大小。莫裡森稱國家利益是促使他做出該決定的主要因素。

    中國在食品產業中的投資也擴展到了美國市場。中國最大的肉製品加工企業—雙匯國際—在2013年以47億美元的價格收購了美國史密斯菲爾德食品公司(Smithfield Foods)。這次收購是迄今涉及價格最高的一筆中國企業收購美國公司的商業運作。如果用投資目的地來計算,如今的中國已經和英國和美國一道,成為了世界上土地貿易產業中三個最活躍的國家之一。目前,中國已在世界上33個國家購買或租賃過土地,比英國多出三個國家,同時比美國多出五個國家。收購境外土地的策略凸顯了一個宏觀的趨勢,也就是經濟實力雄厚的國家會越來越多的在相對貧困和發展落後的國家和地區進行農業資源的收購。

    中国在食品产业中的投资也扩展到了美国市场。中国最大的肉制品加工企业双汇国际在2013年以47亿美元的价格收购了美国史密斯菲尔德食品公司(Smithfield Foods)。这次收购是迄今涉及价格最高的一笔中国企业收购美国公司的商业运作。如果用投资目的地来计算,如今的中国已经和英国和美国一道,成为了世界上土地贸易产业中三个最活跃的国家之一。目前,中国已在世界上33个国家购买或租赁过土地,比英国多出三个国家,同时比美国多出五个国家。收购境外土地的策略凸显了一个宏观的趋势,也就是经济实力雄厚的国家会越来越多的在相对贫困和发展落后的国家和地区进行农业资源的收购。

    遠近海域的魚產業

    魚類食品一直中國人餐桌上重要的一部分。近年來,魚類食品更成為了中國百姓蛋白質攝入的重要來源。從1990年到2013年,中國人的人均魚類消耗量以每年5%的速度增長。目前的中國人均魚類食品消耗量以37.9公斤高居全球之首,遠遠超出19.7公斤的世界平均水平。

    為滿足中國百姓對魚類食品的需求,中國的捕魚業在全球範圍內迅速增長。在2014年,中國以7610萬噸的總年產量位於全球魚類食品產業之首。同時,中國也是世界上年產量最大的水生捕撈國(即收捕的野生海洋生物)和水產養殖國(即在受控環境下飼養和養殖海洋生物)。中國在這兩項產業的產量分別為1400萬噸和5880萬噸。相比之下,印尼的總產量達到了2000萬噸,位居世界第二。

    聯合國糧農組織在2016年的報告指出,“中國的水產業超過了該年世界總產量的60%。”2014年,中國向世界其他地區提供了價值超過200億美元的魚類,這一數字是世界第二大魚類出口國挪威的兩倍。盡管擁有巨大的生產能力,中國在魚類進口上位於世界第三。一部分原因是中國承擔了很多國家的魚類食品加工的業務。中國在2014年的魚類進口量高達85億美元,但這一數字仍落後於美國和日本的200億美元和140億美元的進口量。

    全球前五大產魚國 (2014)
    國家 水生捕撈量(噸) 水產養殖量(噸)
    中國 14,811,390 58,797,258
    印度尼西亞 6,016,025 14,375,282
    美國  4,954,467 425,870
    俄羅斯  4,000,702 163,600
    日本  3,630,364 1,020,420
    數據來源:聯合國糧農組織

    中國的漁民經常在選擇在遠海進行捕撈。在2000年至2010年期間,平均每年有1800艘中國漁船在遠海作業。根據“綠色和平”機構的報告,這一數字從2012年的1830艘迅速增長到2014年的2460艘。個別的中國的漁船甚至已經到達了南極洲進行捕撈。

    遠海捕撈的蓬勃發展在一定程度上導致了中國周圍海域魚類資源的嚴重匱乏。政府對漁民的補貼也是造成過度捕撈的一大原因。中國農業部表示中國”東海無魚已成事實”。臨近的黃海和渤海的情況也面臨類似的情況。

    綠色和平的一項歷時兩年的調查指出在遠海捕撈的中國漁船曾在塞內加爾、茅利塔尼亞、幾內亞比索和其他國家的違禁水域內被查出非法捕撈,並偽造捕獲量。盡管非洲西海岸的海域擁有世界上最豐富的魚類儲存,但外國的捕魚船已經在這個海域造成了過度捕撈。非洲聯盟在2016年十月召開了海洋安全與保障的峰會,旨在討論包括非法捕撈在內的各類海洋保護事宜。值得一提的是,非法捕撈的生意每年在全球範圍內能夠帶來100億至230億美元的利潤。

    在2014年,中國以7610萬噸的總年產量位於全球魚類食品產業之首

    無獨有偶,歐盟2012的一項研究指出中國的魚產業有關部門在嚴重低報其遠海捕撈量的同時,虛報近海的捕撈量。據估計,從2000年到2011年,中國每年在遠海域收獲約460萬噸魚類。這一數字大約是中國向聯合國官方報告的36.8萬噸的12倍。這些謊報和虛報事件側面反映出中國附近海域存在的嚴重過度捕撈﹔這也引發了人們對魚類在這些區域正常繁殖的恢復和魚產業可持續性的擔憂。

    同時,中國的漁民在遠海的作業會引發一系列的國際爭端。2016年三月,阿根廷的海岸警衛隊以非法捕撈為理由擊沉了一艘中國的拖網漁船。2016年十月,中國的一艘漁船在衝向韓國警衛船後導致其沉沒。這起事件引發了中韓的外交糾紛,致使兩國在打擊非法捕撈的雙邊工作上一度陷入停滯。類似的事件在本就風雲莫測的南海爭議海域也時有發生。中國曾用其海岸警衛隊和海上武裝船隻恐嚇外國漁民,以此來支持中國漁民有爭議性的作業。中國的漁業非法盜獵者已經對南海脆弱的生態系統造成了極大的破壞。在黃岩島附近,為了捕獲大型蛤蜊,一些漁民們有目的地破壞了一半的珊瑚礁表面(約58平方公里)。不過截止到2017年一月,海南省已經完成了對其《珊瑚礁保護法案》的修訂工作。新的法案包括了禁止加工和倒賣大型蛤蜊的貿易。中國最近也通過了針對保護大型蛤蜊和其他物種的新法規。ChinaPower

    Photo Credit: Getty Images AsiaPac

    China Power Team. "中國如何養活14億人口?" China Power. 28 2 月, 2018. Updated 28 9 月, 2018. Accessed June 16, 2021. https://chinapower.csis.org/china-food-security/?lang=zh-hant

How is China feeding its population of 1.4 billion?

How is China feeding its population of 1.4 billion?
How is China feeding its population of 1.4 billion?
How is China feeding its population of 1.4 billion? Top

    Food security is critical to the well-being of all countries. Fragile states are often those that are the most food insecure, as limited access to basic staples can undermine a country’s social and economic stability.

    Decades of near double-digit GDP growth have enabled China’s leaders to make considerable strides in increasing food access across the country. Yet China’s economic boom has generated a new set of demographic demands and environmental strains that have affected its agricultural capacity. This feature explores China’s domestic production, the changing dietary demands of its public, and the role international trade plays in China’s food security.

    International Food Trade

    International Food Trade

    For best experience, please view on a desktop computer.

    The Changing Dietary Landscape

    Four decades of rapid economic growth has fueled a dramatic reduction in China’s undernourished population. Undernourishment is defined by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations as the condition of an individual not acquiring enough food to meet the minimum dietary energy requirements for a year, and therefore serves as a key indicator for conditions of chronic hunger. According to the FAO, China’s undernourished population rate fell from 23.9 percent in 1990 to 9.3 percent in 2015. This reduction has occurred concurrently with rising per capita income levels that have soared by more than two-thousand percent over the same period.

    This reduction in undernourishment facilitated China’s ability to reach the international hunger targets set by the United Nations. These targets were designed to halve world hunger by 2015. Of the twenty-nine countries that have met their respective goals, China’s achievements account for two-thirds of the reduction in undernourished people in the world’s developing regions over the last two years. An additional one hundred countries failed to meet their respective targets.

    China has historically striven for domestic food production self-sufficiency. In 1996, the government issued a White Paper on the Grain Issue that established a 95 percent self-sufficiency target for grains including rice, wheat, and corn. China’s domestic production has for the most part increased to meet the country’s growing demand.

    Over the past four decades, China’s grain consumption has more than doubled from 125 million tons in 1975 to 261 million tons in 2016. Considerable investments in agriculture have enabled China’s farmers to produce high volumes of staple crops, with China only importing a few million tons of rice and wheat per year. China often produces around the same amount of grain products as it consumes, resulting in a production-consumption ratio of roughly 1.0 since the mid-2000s.

    Similar production and consumption trends exist in India, although in recent years it has grown increasingly reliant on rice imports. Although a noteworthy achievement for both countries, a major grain exporter like the United States produces between 1.5 and 1.7 times more rice and wheat than it consumes. Despite Brazil’s growing domestic demand for wheat, it still manages to produce nearly twice the amount it consumes.  This ratio is even more pronounced in Australia, which boasts the most arable land per capita in the world, and produces more than three times as much wheat as it consumes.

    With regard to meat products, China has witnessed an astronomical increase in consumption from a mere 7 million tons in 1975 to 75 million tons last year. China now consumes roughly 50 kilograms (kg) of meat per capita. This, combined with its massive population of 1.4 billion people, has made China the largest consumer of meat in the world. In terms of per capita meat consumption, China still falls behind countries like Australia and the United States (93 and 97 kg per capita, respectively), but well ahead of Japan’s 35.6 kg per capita. While domestic production has increased, meat imports have become an increasingly important component of China’s food security. China’s 3.6 million tons of meat imports in 2016 represents a several thousand percent increase from the mid-1970s.

    China’s exploding demand for meat can be attributed to the changing nature of Chinese demographics. China’s ongoing economic development has sparked the largest urban migration in the history of the world, with an estimated 83 million – or 60 percent of China’s total population – expected to permanently reside in cities by 2020. By comparison, the World Bank estimates that India’s urban population will increase by 44 million in the coming years, accounting for just 1.7 percent of its total population. The rising income level of China’s growing urban middle class has corresponded with a shift away from a traditionally grain-oriented diet to an increasingly meat-heavy intake. Furthermore, urban residents have developed an appetite for other resource intensive foods, such as dairy products.

    In response to China’s changing palate, the central government has encouraged intensive agricultural production. Since 1980, China has actively supported its feed-milling industry and subsidized the imports of more productive animal breeds. In 2012, China paid out $165 billion in agricultural subsidies. The next highest governments that supported agriculture through subsidies were Japan at $65 billion and the United States at $30 billion. Notwithstanding these efforts, China’s agricultural development leaves much to be desired, as it continues to tackle inefficiency and substandard-quality issues. For instance, farmers have been encouraged to grow on unsuitable land and have been subsidized to produce food that would be cheaper to import.

    The twin challenges of maintaining economic growth while feeding its growing urban population with a countryside that features only 0.19 acres of arable land per capita has come at a heavy cost. The Economist Intelligence Unit ranked China 17th out of 25 in the sustainable agriculture category of its Food Sustainability Index. In the same index Germany ranked first and India ranked last.

    The Global Food Security Index ranked China as 40th out of 113 countries in terms of food quality and safety.

    China’s industrialization has also resulted in significant environmental damage, which greatly limits domestic production capacity. Industrial pollution has tainted as many as 13 million tons of crops with heavy metals. It is estimated that almost one-sixth of China’s land has been affected by soil contamination due to toxic runoff. Water scarcity is also a concern, as the government reported in 2014 that nearly 60 percent of China’s underground water is polluted and unfit for drinking without treatment. In 2013, widespread contamination of soil, especially in southern areas like Henan province, prompted the government to prohibit the farming of 8 million acres of contaminated agricultural land until it can be rehabilitated.

    Such issues exacerbate the Chinese public’s suspicion towards the government’s agricultural regulation. The Global Food Security Index ranked China as 40th out of 113 countries in terms of food quality and safety. By comparison, the United States and Australia ranked first and fourth, respectively. Although India and China both have similar large populations and household food expenditure rates, India was ranked much lower at 80th in food quality and safety. The top ten in this category were all OECD economies.

    Food safety incidents, such as the 2008 melamine-laced milk scandal and incidents of cadmium-laden rice, have further sowed distrust. In 2014, a Chinese survey revealed that 80 percent of respondents were upset about food safety. These issues have caused residents to pay a premium for alternatives such as organic or imported foods.

    In recent years, the central government has enacted several new policies designed to address the multifaceted challenges of food security and sustainable development. Key among these efforts are:

    • China’s Thirteenth Five-Year Plan (2016-2020) emphasized improvements to efficiency and quality for modernizing the agricultural sector, as well as greater openness to imports and overseas food processing.
    • The Ministry of Environmental Protection issued a plan to cut underground water resource pollution by 2020.
    • The Ministry of Agriculture and the National Development and Reform Commission announced plans for a capital-based push for public-private partnerships in agriculture in December 2016.
    • The Ministry of Health released new dietary guidelines in May 2016 that recommends a 50 percent reduction in the consumption of meat.
    • The Chinese State Council issued new guidelines on stabilizing grain production at 550 million tons by 2020, while placing greater emphasis on non-grain food quality than quantity.

    Although only in the early stages of implementation for China, genetically modified (GM) crops may provide one potential solution to improve environmental resistance and enhance yields. China currently only permits the growing of GM cotton and papayas, but plans to open its agricultural sector up to other GM staple crops like soybeans and corn. However, GM development has been met with backlash. Public concern was raised over illegal GM corn unknowingly grown and distributed in Liaoning, drawing questions over regulation and security standards. In December 2016, Heilongjiang, China’s largest grain-growing province, issued a five-year ban on the growth, processing, and sale of GM crops. Such opposition at both the public and provincial level may undermine efforts to utilize GM crops to ease China’s increasing food pressures.

    Looking Abroad for Food Security

    China has become increasingly reliant on imports to offset its domestic agricultural limitations, prompting Chinese leaders to openly reframe their strategy for food self-sufficiency. At the December 2013 Annual Central Rural Work Conference, it was noted that China’s food security needed to be ensured by supplementing its “domestic supply with moderate imports.”

    Over the past ten years, China’s food imports have increased from approximately $6 million in 2005 to $300 million in 2015.  China’s food imports make up 6.7 percent of its total merchandise imports, placing it ahead of the United States (5.7 percent), India (5.6 percent), and Brazil (5.1 percent).

    Food Imports/Exports of Largest Economies, 2015
    Country % of merchandise imports % of merchandise exports
    USA 5.9 10.1
    China 6.7 2.8
    Japan  10.0  0.8
    Germany  7.9 5.5
    UK  10.1  6.7
    Source: World Bank

    For over five years, China has been the world’s largest vegetable importer, with soybeans constituting 64 percent of the country’s total vegetable imports in 2014. This drive for soybeans has been driven in large part by China’s rapidly expanding livestock operations, where soybeans are used as animal feed. Arable land scarcity and political emphasis on self-sufficiency in grain and other staple foods has resulted in a lack of agricultural capacity for soybean crops. Almost all of China’s soybean imports come from either Brazil (47 percent) or the United States (42 percent).

    To counter domestic production shortcomings, Chinese companies are investing in agriculture-based assets abroad. China is currently the fifth-largest foreign landholder in Australia, and in 2015 China was the largest foreign source of agribusiness investment in Australia. The approximately $2.5 billion that China spent in that year on Australian farms and food facilities was nearly double the amount invested by the United States, the largest foreign holder of Australian land assets.

    China’s efforts to capitalize on Australia’s available land have, however, faced resistance. Two separate companies were blocked by Treasury Secretary Scott Morrison from purchasing the country’s largest cattle business, S. Kidman and Co., whose holdings comprise 2.5 percent of total Australian land area – roughly the size of South Korea. In both cases, Morrison cited national interest as grounds for the decision.

    Chinese investments in food production have also extended to the United States. In 2013, China’s largest meat processor, Shuanghui International, acquired American Smithfield Foods for $4.7 billion, marking the largest Chinese acquisition of a U.S. company in history. China, along with the United Kingdom and United States, now stands as one the three most active land traders in terms of trading partners in the world. At present, China has purchased or leased land in 33 countries, three more than the United Kingdom and five more than the United States. This strategy is indicative of a larger trend, whereby wealthier countries often acquire agriculture resources in poorer, underdeveloped states.

    Fishing Waters Near and Far

    While fish has always been a staple of the Chinese diet, it is becoming an increasingly important source of protein. China’s per capita fish consumption grew at an average annual rate of five percent between 1990 and 2013. At 37.9 kg of per capita consumption, residents of China eat more fish than any other people, and significantly more than the world average of 19.7 kg.

    To meet this demand, China’s global fishing activities have exploded. China is the largest producer of fish products, with 76.1 million tons of production in 2014. China is the world leader in terms of both aquatic capture (harvesting wild sea creatures) at 14 million tons and aquaculture (rearing and farming sea creatures in controlled environments) production, at 58.8 million tons. By comparison, Indonesia ranked second in total production with a harvest of 20 million tons.

    The FAO reported in 2016 that China was “responsible for more than 60 percent of the world aquaculture production.” China supplied the rest of the world with over $20 billion worth of fish in 2014, which was roughly twice the amount of Norway, the world’s second largest fish exporter.  Despite its tremendous production capacity, China is also the third-largest fish importer, as many countries outsource their fish processing to China. At a value of $8.5 billion in 2014, China’s fish imports were considerable but significantly behind the United States and Japan, whose fish imports totaled around $20 billion and $14 billion, respectively.

     Top Fish Producers, 2014
    Country Capture production in tons Aquaculture production in tons
    China 14,811,390 58,797,258
    Indonesia 6,016,025 14,375,282
    USA  4,954,467 425,870
    Russia  4,000,702 163,600
    Japan  3,630,364 1,020,420
    Source: FOA

    A substantial amount of Chinese fishing occurs in distant waters. Between 2000 and 2010, there was a yearly average of 1,800 Chinese fishing vessels operating in distant waters. According to a Green Peace report, this number jumped from 1,830 in 2012 to 2,460 in 2014.  Chinese fishing boats have been spotted as far from its shores as Antarctica.

    This boom in distant-water fishing (DWF) has led in part to the severe depletion of fishery resources within Chinese waters and is supported through subsidies granted by the government. The Chinese Ministry of Agriculture has stated there is “practically no fish” in the East China Sea. The nearby Yellow and Bohai Seas fare little better.

    According to a two-year investigation by Green Peace, Chinese DWF boats have been found fishing illegally and falsifying their catch tonnage in the prohibited waters of Senegal, Mauritania, Guinea Bissau and other countries. While the West African coast’s fishing grounds are some of the most plentiful in the world, almost all are fully or overexploited by international fishing fleets. The African Union convened a summit on Maritime Security and Safety in October 2016 to discuss various maritime issues, including lucrative illegal fishing trade that generates between $10-23 billion annually.

    China is the largest producer of fish products, with 76.1 million tons of production in 2014.

    Further stirring controversy, a 2012 EU study found that Chinese fishing authorities had severely underreported their DWF while overreporting their domestic catches.  From 2000 to 2011, it was estimated that China harvested roughly 4.6 million tons of fish per year in distant waters. This amounts to roughly 12 times more than the 368,000 tons officially reported to the United Nations. This and numerous other incidents of underreporting suggest a high degree of overfishing, raising concerns of fish recovery and future sustainability.

    The actions of Chinese fishermen have also sparked a bevy of international disputes. In March 2016, the Argentina Coast Guard sank a Chinese trawler which it claimed to be fishing illegally in its waters. In October 2016, a Chinese fishing boat rammed and sank a South Korean Coast Guard boat, causing a diplomatic row that stalled bilateral efforts to crackdown on illegal fishing. Similar fishing-fleet incidents have occurred with some regularity in the disputed waters of the South China Sea, where China has used its coast guard and maritime militia to intimidate foreign fishermen and support the contested actions of Chinese fishermen. Chinese poachers in the South China Sea have devastated the delicate ecosystem. At Scarborough Shoal, fishermen have intentionally destroyed roughly half the total reef surface (approximately 58 square kilometers) in their efforts to harvest giant clams. As of January 2017, however, Hainan province has amended its Coral Reef Protection Act to include banning the processing and trade of giant clams under its marine protection laws. China recently passed new laws to protect giant clams and other species. ChinaPower