中國債務危機是否迫在眉睫?

中國債務危機是否迫在眉睫?
中國債務危機是否迫在眉睫?
中國債務危機是否迫在眉睫? Top
    简体

    歷經數十年近兩位數的經濟增長後,中國政府已轉而採取刺激融資的強有力政策,力圖保持經濟穩健增長。此戰略導致的一個後果就是債務激增。截至2016年,中國負債總額已達到其整體GDP的257.1%。儘管債務佔比超過GDP的100%並不罕見,但由於中國過去十年的信貸擴張過猛,這一趨勢導致了金融隱患與日俱增,或可威脅其經濟的長期興旺。

    Debt to GDP Traditional Chinese

    債務類型分解

    儘管中國在2008-2009年全球金融危機中所受衝擊小於他國,但由於出口大幅下滑,股市回落導致市值蒸發約三分之二,中國經濟依然深受其害。為力挽狂瀾,中國政府於2008年底推出了高達四萬億人民幣的經濟刺激方案,以此盤活國內需求、刺激經濟增長。該計劃價值中國2008年GDP總額的近13%,且遠超世界第一、第三大經濟體所推出經濟刺激方案的規模——當年,美國與日本也不過拿出1520億1000億美元注入兩國規模更為宏大的國內市場。

    政府經濟刺激方案中的資金主要來自國有銀行體系的貸款,這導致債務上漲,經年累月後,這些債務不均衡地分散在各個行業與區域。為評估與日俱增的債務給中國帶來的經濟挑戰,須將家庭、政府與企業承擔的不同債務類型納入考慮。針對以上三種債務佔整體GDP的比重,國際清算銀行1提供了各國的相關數據。

    家庭債務指個人與家庭所欠金融機構的款項,主要形式為抵押貸款或個人貸款。從2008至2016年,中國家庭債務年均增長額為GDP總額的12.1%,截至2016年已達GDP總額的43.2%。此比例與泰國、南非等其他發展中國家的水平相似。經合組織(OECD)稱,中國家庭負債水平適中

    政府或主權債務指一國政府所欠的全部款項。就中國而言,其特指中國中央政府所欠的一般債務以及地方政府所欠債務。以佔整體GDP比重計算,這一數字從2008年的27.1%增長至了2016年的46.4%。中國的政府債務微高於韓國(40.1%),但遠不及美國(100.8%)與日本(212.9%)。雖然中國中央政府的負債相對較低,但也有人擔心金融危機後,地方政府積累了大量債務。重點是,中國所積累的大部分債務都是政府政策導向的產物,由於相關政策暗中為國有企業與國有銀行提供財政支援,政府償債的成本進一步加大。

    企業債務主要指為給投資與運營籌措資金而獲得的銀行貸款或發行的公司債券。自2008年以來,中國的企業債務一路飛速攀升,過去八年(以整體GDP比重計算)飆升了70個百分點。截至2016年,中國企業債務已達166.3%,雖不及香港(233.9%),但遠超日本(95.5%)與美國(72.5%)。同時,中國的企業負債水平也遠高於巴西(43.6%)、馬來西亞(68.5%)等其他新興市場夥伴國家。企業的債台高築給中國經濟帶來了幾大挑戰,下文亦有提及。


    債務問題解析

    誠然,中國整體債務已達到GDP總額的257.1%,但重要的是將其放在全球背景下進行理解。麥肯錫2015年的報告指出,自2007年以來,全球債務呈穩步上升趨勢,多數主要經濟體的借貸水平有所提高。據國際金融協會稱,全球債務總額在2017年第一季度達到了217萬億美元,是全球GDP總額的327%。新興市場借貸激增是這一變化的主因。就中國而言,金融危機後,借貸業務的低門檻促使投資大規模地流入國內基礎設施與房地產,這一波「投資熱」同樣帶動了海外投資的上漲。

    比負債額更令人擔心的是金融危機以來整體債務增長的速度。從2009年至2015年,中國債務總額的年均增幅約為20%。其中,高居不下的企業負債水平尤其令人擔心。中國的企業債務,即資產負債率自金融危機後一直穩步上升,這意味著中國企業在融資時的貸款額有增無減,所承擔的風險也與日俱增。

    2016 年, 中國企業産量過剩,工廠産量平均超出市場需求的20%。

    信貸繁榮還導致眾多中國企業產量過剩,供過於求。長江商學院在對2000家企業進行季度調研時發現,超過半數的中國產業與省份面臨著產能過剩的問題,2016年,工廠產量平均超出市場需求的20%。伴隨產能普遍過剩而來的是企業部門利潤的下滑。從2008年至2013年,中國企業利潤率已下滑超過3%。

    結果就是效率的大滑坡,久而久之,企業利用可支配資本能夠創造的增值產出日益減少。通過分析增量資本產出率(ICOR),即衡量每單位增量產出所需資本投入的指標,可以發現資本效率的低下可見一斑。中國企業部門的ICOR值從2009年至2017年增長了超過三倍,這意味著增加每單元產量所需的資本投入水漲船高。換言之,中國重信貸的融資熱潮並沒有帶來生產力的興旺發展,而是造成了信貸使用效率的低下,這意味著中國企業的償債能力也許正在衰退。國際清算銀行的數據顯示,中國私營非金融領域的償債率,即用於償債的收入比率高達20.1%,與韓國(20%)基本一致,但遠遠高於美國(14.6%)與日本(14.2%)。高額借貸加上利潤下滑,進一步惡化了中國的企業債務問題,許多中國企業債台高築,現有債務已堆積成山,想再借貸難乎其難。

    金融危機期間,中國的國有企業成為了政府的關鍵政策工具,用於緩解危機對中國經濟的影響。銀行受命放貸給國有企業,而國有企業在市場激勵有限的情況下,依然利用這些資金擴建新廠房、增購新設備。國企所持債務佔中國企業債務總額的一半以上,但對中國2016年整體GDP的貢獻僅為22%。與此同時,國有企業的存在使得中國企業債務的衡量變得更為複雜。許多法人實體由中國政府部分或全資所有,在這種狀況下下,公私債務很難區分。

    在中國實際運營的國企數量尚不明確。根據《中國統計年鑒》,中國共有近1.93萬家國有工業企業,但根據國外判斷,這一數字高達15萬家。這些企業主要集中在化學製造、礦物製品、電力及熱能生產行業。相較私營企業,國有企業整體負債率更高、利潤率更低。

    中國影子銀行的規模 (億 人民幣)
    年度 規模(億 人民幣)
    2013 24,9520
    2012 19,2070
    2011 14,1800
    2010 11,1110
    2009 5,9950
    布魯金

    雖然過去在中國,貸款多來自主要的國家控股銀行,但如今也逐漸轉向來源不甚清晰的其他借貸渠道,這會誘發高風險貸款,並進一步將中國推向債務懸崖。此類借貸有時來自銷售輕監管投資的小規模地方性與省級銀行。理財產品的流行讓人難以判斷債務分屬哪一機構,無法確定債務組成方式,從而使債務環境更為複雜。同時,正規銀行部門以外的金融活動讓政府難以監管,這些影子銀行進一步模糊了金融市場的透明度。從2006年至2016年,中國影子銀行部門的規模從5230億人民幣(800億美元)直線飆升至25萬億人民幣(3.8萬億美元)。

    中國企業部門也飽受問題貸款的困擾。據國際貨幣基金組織(IMF)估計,在商業銀行撥放給中國企業部門的所有貸款中,15.5%可被視為「存在風險」,即企業收入不足以償還其貸款的利息支出。假設賠付率為60%,IMF預計這些風險貸款可帶來相當於中國GDP總額7%的損失。據世界銀行稱,中國的不良貸款佔總貸款額的1.67%,與美國的1.5%基本持平,但遠低於印度5.9%的不良貸款比重。值得注意的是,包括中國銀行在內的大型銀行報告稱,不良貸款率在2017年上半年有所改善。這一定程度上是因為其將不良資產出售給了中國信達資產管理(成立於90年代,專業清理不良貸款,在四大資產管理公司中規模排名第二)這樣的公司,此舉意在改善中國在投資人面前的金融形象。

    儘管人們對中國金融體系2016年的健康狀況依然存疑,不過這種擔心已有一定程度的緩解。然而2017年5月,穆迪投資服務公司還是對中國國債信用評級進行了1989年後的首次下調,由Aa3調至A1。對此,中國財政部予以反駁,稱穆迪調降評級「方法不當」,並指出中國正在進行結構性改革(下文討論),旨在抑制債務問題。2017年9月,標準普爾公司將中國的信用評級由AA-下調至A+,「曠日持久的信貸熱潮加劇了中國的經濟與金融風險。」

    IMF的2016年報告顯示,在過去五年信貸佔GDP比重增長超過30個百分點的43個經濟體中,38個「經歷了嚴重經濟動蕩,表現為金融危機、增長放緩或二者兼有。」中國信貸佔GDP比重在過去五年(2011-2016)增長了77.2個百分點。這一與日俱增的隱患會轉化為增速放緩還是演變成金融危機,目前尚不清晰,但無論何種狀況,都會危及中國以及與中國密切相關的全球經濟。

    2017年5月,穆迪投資服務公司對中國國債信用評級進行了1989年後的首次下調。更多關于中國債務的信息可以閱讀 CSIS費和中國研究項目的相關題目.

    債務問題的政府應對

    面對日益攀升的債務問題,中國政府已採取一系列應對措施。中國人民銀行研究局局長徐忠於2017年5月表示,以過度消費維持高增長以及公司管理的不力是中國債務水平上升的元兇,並斷言「金融安全要靠改革而非救市實現。」兩個月後,習近平主席也在一次國家金融工作會議上著重強調,要通過金融相關法律法規的建設防範系統性風險。習主席同時宣布,中國政府將「推動經濟去槓桿,堅定執行穩健的貨幣政策,把國有企業降槓桿作為重中之重。」

    在2015年的十三五規劃中,中國政府概述了應對企業債務相關弱點的幾大金融改革措施。規劃目標將煤炭與鋼鐵產業產能調低10-15%,並新增價值1000億人民幣的重組基金(相當於中國GDP的0.1%),用於解決約180萬失業工人的福利問題。2017年上半年,中國縮減煤炭產能1.28億噸,縮減鋼鐵產能4240萬噸,均已完成全年縮減目標的85%。

    2017年上半年,中國縮減煤炭產能1.28億噸,縮減鋼鐵產能4240萬噸。

    連續虧本多年的殭屍企業也使中國經濟深受負累。這其中就包括一些債務水平過高、產能過剩、靠政府補貼支撐的國有企業。政府改革政策推出後,准許殭屍企業申請破產,這也使得中國的破產申請在2015至2016年激增54%。2016年,國資委明確指出,將在三年內出清345家殭屍企業。

    中國政府實施的許多政策都旨在減少地方政府債務。這其中也包括2014年10月發布的中華人民共和國國務院令第43號,文件要求對地方政府的融資渠道進行嚴格監管,並於2015年進行債券置換,將地方政府的債務置換為市政債券。截至2016年5月,中國已積累價值1.58萬億人民幣(2400億美元)的債務債券置換。中國財政部還點名批評地方政府融資中的不規範行為,並稱將在出現違規行為時,堅決追究相關地方官員的責任。

    2016年,中國監管機構引入更為嚴格的限制措施,用於管控國家債務。2016年11月,國務院開始整治依靠債務融資的海外投資,宣布所有超過100億美元的海外收購都須由政府部門簽字,並要求所有國有企業叫停價值超過10億美元的海外房產購置。法規的收緊也用於應對人民幣在2016年經歷5.8%的破紀錄貶值後,面臨的巨大下行壓力。中國銀監會加強了其對理財產品的監管,要求貸方更為明確地向投資人披露風險,並禁止理財產品發行方投資自己的產品。

    FDI

    近年來,在中國政府”走出去”的政策引導下, 中國企業一直在積極拓展海外市場。點擊閱讀更多中國海外投資的分析。

    穆迪高管認為,中國的結構性改革或可「減緩債務累計,但不足以遏制其發展」,並警告如果中國未能有效控制信貸狀況,還將進一步下調其信用評級。2017年8月,國家發改委宣布,「降低企業槓桿初見成效,債務風險得到有效控制,」但中國非金融企業的槓桿率依然過高,中國必須「繼續堅定去槓桿。」國務院也計劃創建金融穩定發展委員會,負責協調監管政策與改革。這些改革是否足以解決國家的債務隱患,現在斷言還為時尚早,但中國政府似乎有意願實行必要改革,擺脫中國金融系統中的隱憂。

    本文由國際戰略研究中心中國實力項目發表,如有轉載,請標明出處。ChinaPower

    1. 本文以國際清算銀行的數據為准。其它數據來源可能會有差異。
    Photo Credit: JOHANNES EISELE/AFP/Getty Images

    China Power Team. "中國債務危機是否迫在眉睫?" China Power. 31 7 月, 2018. Updated 28 9 月, 2018. Accessed March 3, 2021. https://chinapower.csis.org/china-face-looming-debt-crisis/?lang=zh-hant

Does China face a looming debt crisis?

Does China face a looming debt crisis?
Does China face a looming debt crisis?
Does China face a looming debt crisis? Top

    After decades of near double-digit growth, Chinese leaders have turned to using turbo-charged stimulus financing to maintain moderate growth. A consequence of this strategy has been a dramatic and rapid rise in debt. As of 2016, China’s total debt amounted to 257.1 percent of its gross domestic product (GDP). While a debt-to-GDP ratio exceeding 100 percent is not unusual, because China’s credit expansion over the past decade has risen so quickly, this trend has contributed to growing financial vulnerabilities that could threaten the long-term health of its economy.

    Debt as Percent of GDP by Country (2006-2016)

    Breaking Down the Types of Debt

    Although China was less affected by the 2008-2009 global financial crisis than other countries, its economy still suffered from a sharp decline in exports and a major stock market correction that wiped out an estimated two-thirds of its market value. To stem the tide of the crisis, China pushed out a massive $600 billion stimulus package in late 2008 to boost domestic demand and spur economic growth. The value of the stimulus was close to 13 percent of China’s GDP in 2008, and was considerably larger than stimulus packages offered by the world’s first and third largest economies – the US and Japan pumped a comparatively meager $152 billion and $100 billion, respectively, into their much larger domestic markets.

    The government stimulus was largely funded through loans from the state banking system, which contributed to an increase in debt that with time has become unevenly distributed across different industries and regions. To assess the economic challenges China faces regarding its growing debt, it is necessary to consider the composition of the debt that is variously held by households, the government, and companies. The Bank for International Settlements1 provides country-level data on all three types of debt as a percentage of total GDP.

    Household debt refers to the amount owed by individuals and households to financial institutions, often in the form of mortgages or personal loans. On average, household debt in China increased by 12.1 percent of GDP annually between 2008 and 2016, reaching 43.2 percent of GDP by 2016. This percentage is similar to that of other developing economies, such as Thailand and South Africa. According to the OECD, China’s level of household indebtedness is moderate.

    Government or sovereign debt refers to the total amount owed by a country’s government. In China’s case, this refers to general debt owed by the Chinese central government as well as that explicitly held by local governments, which as a percent of its GDP rose from 27.1 percent in 2008 to 46.4 percent in 2016. China’s government debt is slightly larger than that of South Korea (40.1 percent), but is dwarfed by the United States (100.8 percent) and Japan (212.9 percent). Although China’s general government debt is relatively low, there is some concern that a significant amount of debt has been accumulated by local governments in the wake of the financial crisis. Importantly, much of the debt accumulated by China is a product of government policy that has offered implicit financial backing to state-owned enterprises (SOEs) and state banks, which in turn increases the government’s cost of servicing debt.

    Corporate debt refers primarily to bank loans and corporate bonds to finance their investments and operations. China’s corporate debt has risen sharply since 2008, jumping (as a percent of GDP) by seventy percentage points over the last eight years. As of 2016, China’s corporate debt stood at 166.3 percent, placing it behind Hong Kong’s (233.9 percent), but well ahead of Japan (95.5 percent) and the United States (72.5 percent). Similarly, China’s corporate credit levels has surpassed those of emerging market peers like Brazil (43.6 percent) and Malaysia (68.5 percent). China’s considerably high level of corporate debt presents several challenges for its economy, several of which are explored in the following sections.


    Explaining the Debt Problem

    Although China’s total debt stands at 257.1 percent of GDP, it is important to understand this figure within a global context. A 2015 McKinsey report showed that worldwide debt has steadily risen and most major economies have displayed higher levels of borrowing since 2007. According to the Institute of International Finance, global debt amounted to $217 trillion – 327 percent of the global GDP – in the first quarter of 2017. This increase was mostly due to a surge in emerging market borrowing. In the case of China, easy access to credit following the financial crisis paved the way for large-scale spending for domestic infrastructure and real-estate development. This spending binge also contributed to greater overseas investments.

    More concerning than the amount of debt China carries is the rate at which its total debt has grown since the financial crisis. China’s total credit growth averaged a rate of about 20 percent per year between 2009 and 2015. In particular, China’s high level of corporate debt is worrisome. Chinese corporate leverage – the ratio of debt to equity – has steadily risen since the financial crisis, indicating that Chinese firms are increasingly using loans to finance assets and taking on increased risk.

    In 2016, China’s suffered from widespread overcapacity, with factories producing on average 20 percent more goods than the market demanded.

    China’s credit boom also led many firms to produce more goods than what market conditions demanded. A quarterly survey of 2,000 companies by the Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business found that more than half of China’s industries and provinces suffered from overcapacity, with factories producing on average 20 percent more goods than the market demanded in 2016. This prevalent overcapacity problem has been paired with falling profitability in the corporate sector. From 2008 to 2013, China’s corporate profit margins decreased by more than 3 percent.

    As a result, there has been a notable decline in efficiency, with firms generating less value-added output over time with the capital they have at their disposal. This capital inefficiency is reflected by the Incremental Capital Output Ratio (ICOR), which measures how much capital input is needed per extra unit of output. The Chinese corporate sector’s ICOR has increased more than threefold from 2009 to 2017, which means an increasing amount of capital was needed for the next unit of production. In other words, China’s credit-heavy financing spree was not matched by a corresponding boost in productivity, but by an increasingly inefficient use of credit, which suggests China’s corporations may have a deteriorating capacity to repay their existing debts. Data from BIS reveals that the private nonfinancial sector in China has a debt servicing ratio – the share of income used to service one’s debt – of 20.1 percent, which is nearly identical to that of South Korea (20 percent) yet significantly higher than that of the US (14.6 percent) and Japan (14.2 percent). Heavy borrowing, combined with falling profits, further exacerbates China’s corporate debt problem by leaving many Chinese firms with significant debt overhang –where existing debt reaches such a level that borrowing becomes difficult.

    During the financial crisis, China’s SOEs were a key policy instrument employed by Beijing to mitigate the effects of the crisis on the Chinese economy. Banks were directed to lend to SOEs, which in turn used this financing to build new factories and equipment despite there being limited market incentive for expansion. SOEs accounted for over half of all China’s corporate debt, but only contributed to 22 percent of China’s total GDP in 2016. It is worth noting that SOEs further complicate corporate debt measurements in China. Differentiating between public and private debt in China is difficult when many corporate entities are partially or wholly owned by the Chinese government.

    The exact number of SOEs operating in China is unknown. According to the China Statistical Yearbook, there were a total of almost 19,300 state-holding industrial enterprises in China, but foreign estimates place the total number as high as 150,000. These enterprises are most concentrated in chemical manufacturing, mineral manufacturing and the production of electricity and heat. In general, SOEs show greater levels of leverage and lower levels of profitability than private enterprises.

    Size of China’s Shadow Banking Sector (Unit: 1 Billion RMB)
    Year Size (Billion RMB)
    2013 24,952
    2012 19,207
    2011 14,180
    2010 11,111
    2009 5,995
    Brookings Institution

    While China’s lending traditionally comes from the major state-controlled banks, there has been a gradual shift towards less transparent alternative lending sources that can produce high-risk loans and contribute to China’s debt woes. This lending is at times done through smaller local and provincial banks that sell lightly regulated investments. The rise of wealth management products (WMPs) adds additional complexity to the debt environment by making it difficult to distinguish between the debt of different organizations and determine how this debt is tied together. Financial transparency is further obfuscated by shadow banking, with financial activity operating outside the formal banking sector and thus less visible to government oversight. China’s shadow banking sector grew in size from $523 billion RMB ($80 billion USD) in 2006 to almost $25 trillion RMB ($3.8 trillion USD) in 2016.

    China’s corporate sector is also plagued by problem loans. The IMF estimates that 15.5 percent of all commercial bank loans to China’s corporate sector can be deemed “at-risk,” where a firm’s earnings cannot sufficiently cover the interest expenses of its loans. Assuming a 60 percent loss ratio, the IMF forecasts that these at-risk loans could result in losses equal to 7 percent of China’s GDP. Per the World Bank, China’s nonperforming loans amount to 1.67 percent of total gross loans, which is similar to the United States’ 1.5 percent, but significantly smaller than India’s proportion of nonperforming loans, which sits at 5.9 percent. Notably, large banks like the Bank of China reported improving nonperforming loan ratios in the first half of 2017. This outcome is partly due to the offloading of bad assets to companies like China Cinda Asset Management (the second-largest of four asset managers set up in the 1990s to clean up bad loans) in order to improve China’s financial image to investors.

    Despite there being a noticeable concern over the health of China’s financial system in 2016, this worry has abated as of late. Nevertheless, Moody’s Investor Services cut China’s sovereign debt rating in May 2017 for the first time since 1989, pegging it down one rank from Aa3 to A1. In response, China’s Ministry of Finance dismissed the Moody’s downgrade as “inappropriate” and pointed towards the ongoing structural reforms (discussed below) designed to rein in the debt problem. A 2016 IMF report showed that of the 43 economies whose credit-to-GDP ratio grew by at least 30 percentage points in the last five years, 38 of them “experienced severe disruptions, manifested in financial crises, growth slowdowns, or both.” China’s total credit-to-GDP over the last five years (2011-2016) grew by 77.2 percentage points. It is unclear if this mounting concern will materialize in the form of a slowdown or crisis, but either possibility could be devastating for both China and the rest of the global economy through which China is integrally linked.

    In May 2017, Moody’s Investor Service downgraded China’s credit rating for the first time since 1989. Learn more about the concerns over China’s debt with this Freeman Chair in China Studies’ China Reality Check Event.

    Government Response to Debt

    The Chinese government has undertaken steps to redress the growing debt problem. Xu Zhong, head of the research bureau at the People’s Bank of China, acknowledged in May 2017 that high stimulus over-spending and poor corporate management were key contributors to China’s rising leverage levels, asserting that “financial security is achieved via reforms, not bail-outs.” Two months later, President Xi Jinping highlighted the importance of developing financial laws and regulations to guard against systemic risks at a National Financial Work Conference. Xi also declared that the Chinese government will “deleverage the economy by firmly taking a prudent monetary policy and prioritizing reducing leverage in state-owned enterprises.

    In the 2015 13th Five Year Plan, Chinese authorities outlined several financial reform measures designed to tackle corporate debt-related vulnerabilities. The plan aimed to reduce capacity in coal and steel industries by 10-15 percent. The plan also outlined a $100 billion RMB restructuring fund (equivalent to 0.1 percent of China’s GDP) that was set up to absorb the welfare costs for an estimated 1.8 million displaced workers. Over the first half of 2017, China cut 128 million tons of its coal capacity and 42.4 million tons of its steel capacity, reaching 85 percent of its annual reduction targets in both coal and steel.

    Over the first half of 2017, China cut 128 million tons of its coal capacity and 42.4 million tons of its steel capacity.

    The Chinese economy is also burdened by the existence of zombie firms, companies which have run losses for consecutive years. In many cases, these consist of SOEs that face high levels of debt or overcapacity and that are propped up by government subsidies. Tighter government reforms have focused on allowing zombie firms to go bankrupt, which in part resulted in a 54 percent spike in Chinese insolvency cases from 2015 to 2016. In 2016, the State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission (SASAC) further identified 345 zombie firms to focus on shutting down within the next three years.

    Many of the policies introduced by the Chinese government focus on reducing local government debt. These include the State Council’s Document No. 43 – issued in October 2014 – that called for strict supervision of local governments’ financing channels, and a 2015 bond-swap program, where local government liabilities could be swapped into municipal bonds. As of May 2016, China has accumulated a total of $1.58 trillion RMB ($240 billion USD) in loan-for-bond swaps. China’s Ministry of Finance has also employed public naming and shaming tactics against municipalities for financing irregularities and vowed to hold officials accountable for regulatory violations.

    In 2016, Chinese regulators introduced even greater restrictions to control the country’s debt.  In November 2016, the State Council cracked down on debt-financed overseas investments, declaring that government agencies had to sign off on foreign acquisitions valuing over $10 billion and that all SOEs were to halt all foreign real-estate purchases in excess of $1 billion. These tightening regulations were also introduced to counter the immense downward pressure exerted on the RMB after it depreciated by a record 5.8 percent in 2016. The China Banking Regulatory Commission has also strengthened its oversight of wealth management products by requiring lenders to more clearly disclose risks to investors and prohibiting WMP issuers from investing in their own products.

    FDI

    Driven in part by Beijing’s “Going Global” strategy, Chinese firms have actively expanded their overseas investment in recent years. Learn more about China’s foreign investment.

    Moody’s officials stated that China’s structural reforms may “slow the pace of debt build-up but will not be enough to arrest it” and warned of another rating downgrade if Chinese credit is not kept in check. In August 2017, the National Development and Reform Commission stated that it has seen “initial results in lowering corporate leverage and debt risks have been effectively controlled,” but that leverage ratios for non-financial Chinese firms are still excessively high and that China must “firmly adhere to the direction of deleveraging.” The State Council is also expected to create a Financial Stability and Development Committee in charge of coordinating regulatory policy and reforms. It remains too early to tell if these reforms will be enough to redress the country’s debt concerns, but it appears that Beijing is willing to implement the reforms needed to correct certain vulnerabilities within the Chinese financial system.

    1. This page relies on estimates from the Bank for International Settlements. Other sources may have higher or lower estimates. NB: China uses “total social financing” as a metric for debt.